Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA full-text, scholarly database of more than 12,000 journals (10,900 peer-reviewed) in almost every academic discipline. Also includes over 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides concrete literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Contains full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years
- American Community Survey (ACS) - census.govThe American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
- Explore Census Data This link opens in a new windowAmerican FactFinder is the primary tool to access data published by the Census Bureau. AFF allows you to access data from many Census Bureau sources: 2010 and 2000 Decennial Censuses, the Economic Censuses and the American Community Survey (ACS) for federal, state, county and local data levels.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer is dedicated to providing easy access to demographic information about the United States.
It includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States, including historical data back to 1940.
Finding Background Information
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Suggested Books & Streaming Videos
STREAMING VIDEOS
- Nourish: Food + Community./ The Video Project, 2011. [San Francisco, California, USA] : Kanopy Streaming, 2016.
- The intersections of social class, family, and community./ Richmond, Virginia : Urquhart Publishing Group, 2015. (1 hr., 15 min., 5 sec.)
- Community and family./ London, United Kingdom : SAGE Publications Ltd., 2015. (11 min., 25 sec.)
EBOOKS
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census : from the constitution to the American community survey / editors, Margo J. Anderson, Constance F. Citro and Joseph J. Salvo. 2012 HA37.U55 E53 2012eb
- Food security, poverty, and nutrition policy analysis : statistical methods and policy applications / edited by Suresh C. Babu and Prabuddha Sanyal. International Food Policy Research Institute. 2009 HD9017
- Community food security resource kit : how to find money, technical assistance, and other help to fight hunger and strengthen local food systems. / Washington, D.C.] : USDA, [2000] A 98.8:2001000497
- Human resilience against food insecurity / John M. Ashley.London, United Kingdom ; San Diego, CA, United States : Academic Press, [2018]
- Food access research atlas. / [Washington, District of Columbia] : U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service.Began in: 2011.
This Required Textbooks Is Available Online
Marginalizing Access to the Sustainable Food System by ISBN: 9780761860549Publication Date: 2013-01-01Marginalizing Access to the Sustainable Food System is a comprehensive analysis of the barriers and opportunities confronting minority communities' ability to access healthy, fresh foods. It exposits the meaning of marginalization through several measurement indicators examined from the cross sections of history, space, and participation. These indicators include minority participation in agriculture, the delivery scope of CSA farms, the presence and location of farmer's markets in the minority districts, the density of food stores, the availability of fresh produce in grocery stores in minority districts, the placement of urban food gardens in minority districts, and minority residents' participation in the sustainable food system. Camille Tuason Mata applies this analysis to three minority districts in Oakland--Chinatown, Fruitvale, and West Oakland--and examines the patterns of marginalization in relation to the sustainable food system of the California Bay Area.
