Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

ARAB 491-Dr. Christopher Hemmig (Spring 2021)

Brill Resources

Primary Resources

Primary resources are material that contains firsthand accounts of events and activities that were created contemporaneous to those events or later recalled by an eyewitness.

Texas A&M University-Cushing Memorial Library and Archives Resources

  • Black Superheroes, Sidekicks, and Characters Comic
    This collection of comic books featuring black heroes, black sidekicks, and comics represent 20th-century European attitudes towards Africans. Although not designated as Arabs, many comics depict Africans from all over Africa, including Morocco, Tunisia, and Senegal. Most of the comics are written in Italian, Spanish, and French.
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection Database
    Articles, collections, critical literature on African science fiction, and fantasy.
  • Liebig Card Sets Depicting the Middle East and Africa
    The Liebig trade cards are 123 in number, written primarily in French, with depictions of people and places in the Middle East and Africa, including images of Muslims, flags, and maps.
  • DeGregorio Collection of Antiquities
    Ancient Egyptian and Mesopotamian artifacts
  • Rex B. Grey Collection of Rare Books
    The Grey collection contains over 150 books that reflect European attitudes toward Africa, the Middle East, and other parts of the world. Many of these titles reflect European attitudes toward Africa before colonialism was fully entrenched. These works comprise a small part of the collection of Rex B. Grey, Texas A & M Class of 1941. These items depict African art, history, African exploration, and exploitation.
    Books in Cushing
  • And Bid Him Sing - David G. Dubois
    Call Number: PS3554.U257 A8 1975
    ISBN: 9780878670413
    Son of noted authors Shirley DuBois Graham and stepson of the renown scholar W. E. B. DuBois, David DuBois spent 12 years, from 1960 to 1972 in Egypt. His historical fiction novel details the struggle to unite Black Africans and Black Americans towards a common goal despite cultural and religious differences.


  • Call Number: DT333 .D26 1854
    Publication Date: 1854
    Illustrations depicting the moral, religious, social, and political conditions of various Arab tribes of the African Sahara.

Related Websites