Skip to main content

Research Guides

Research Data Management

Research Distancing Support Through University Libraries IT Systems

 Now that faculty have likely responded to the immediate needs of moving their courses online, many will consider how they can manage their research programs while sheltering at home.  For some faculty, their normal research practices may be difficult to replicate at home.   

The University Libraries have expertise in information management and the design and implementation of information technology systems that help make Texas A&M research discoverable, curated and preserved; help enhance the scholarly identity of Texas A&M scholars and students; and increase the global reach and societal impact of research teams.  We provide specialized IT systems, and training and guidance on workflows and standards. 

University Libraries IT systems and expertise is a resource for researchers looking to adapt their research practices while sheltering at home.  Our systems support open science and open scholarship practices that support efficient information management by research teams and increase the transparency and accessibility of Texas A&M’s scholarly research.  Below, Libraries systems and services are organized by major stages of the research lifecycle:


Planning

Planning your research project? Let these tools and services help you with this process. The library assists with literature reviews, citation management, and data management plans.

DMPTool (https://dmptool.org/)

The DMPTool is an online platform guiding data management plan development according to the requirements of specific funding agencies. This tool enhances efficiency for data management planning by allowing teams to develop, manage, export, and store data management plans in a collaborative workspace.

PIVOT (https://library.tamu.edu/search/databases.html)

Research funding database. Here are instructions on how to set up a search

(https://oaktrust.library.tamu.edu/handle/1969.1/154919)

Refworks, Endnote, and More (https://library.tamu.edu/research/citation_management.html)

Citation management software can simplify preparing your paper, article, report, or grant. The software helps you build a database of literature and citations and invite others to collaborate. 

Scholars@TAMU (https://scholars.library.tamu.edu/)

A researcher profile system of research expertise at Texas A&M.  The faceted search of Scholars@TAMU can be used to identify potential collaborators.

Project Management 

The following tools can support project management by creating cloud-based, shared work environments for research groups. The Libraries offer services for best practices in file management, versioning, and general workflows for managing research data and related materials.

Google Apps (https://google.tamu.edu/)

Google Apps provide collaborative workspaces that support task management, versioning, and metadata for research materials and data. Combine different Google Apps such as Groups, Drive, Colaboratory, Hangouts, and Sites to create a shared research ecosystem for distributed teams. Google apps are interoperable with other collaborative platforms and TAMU accounts have unlimited storage space. 

Open Science Framework (https://osf.io/)

The Open Science Framework is a free, cloud-based project management platform designed to help teams document and publish study designs, materials, and data. It facilitates sharing of materials and data within and across research teams. Teams can connect third-party services that they already use (such as GitHub, Google Drive, and Amazon Web Services) directly to the OSF workspace. 

Digital Scholarship

For some scholars, research distancing may require a move to working with digital archives and digital collections of primary materials.  The library can help with the discovery of these digital collections as well as select digital scholarship tools that support working with a corpus of text or digital collections 

Publishing & Preservation

Publish and preserve your work so Texas A&M’s research is accessible to the world.

OakTrust, Texas A&M’s Institutional Repository (https://oaktrust.library.tamu.edu/)

Use OAKTrust to curate and publish research and teaching materials.  Digital documents are discoverable by Google searches, given DOIs or other unique identifiers so they are citable, and collect metrics of usage and engagement.  All digital content is cited on Scholars@TAMU profiles automatically.

Texas Data Repository (https://data.tdl.org/)

The Texas Data Repository is the Texas A&M University institutional data repository, made available to researchers by the University Libraries. TDR is a flexible online platform for research groups to collaboratively organize, publish, and preserve data. TAMU researchers can add collaborators and assign various roles within their account. 

The Open Access to Knowledge Fund

(https://library.tamu.edu/services/scholarly_communication/Open_Access/oakfund.html)

The OAKFund at Texas A&M University underwrites publication charges for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and books published in fully Open Access publications.

Reputation, Impact, and Digital Identity

Develop your digital identity, characterize your reputation, and describe your scholarly and societal impact.

Scholars@TAMU (https://scholars.library.tamu.edu/)

Scholars@TAMU is a profile system that hosts searchable expertise for faculty and TAMU organizations by gathering data from institution-level/enterprise systems, publicly available research data (e.g., grants and publications), and other authoritative sources. The data is compiled into a profile that you can edit to best represent your scholarship and expertise.

Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com/)

Citation and publication profile for researchers.  Citations are important metrics of scholarly impact.

Altmetrics (https://library.tamu.edu/search/databases.html)

Altmetrics, the alternative metrics database available through the library website, provide mentions of your works in newspapers, social media and government reports – all measures of societal and scholarly engagement with your work.  All research included in Scholars@TAMU profiles is tracked in Altmetrics.

To request a consultation or presentation, please contact your subject librarian or Bruce Herbert (beherbert@tamu.edu) or John Watts (jwatts@library.tamu.edu).