Medical Residents & Fellows Guide

Download the Browzine App or add the Browser Extension.

For one-click access to scholarly articles wherever you are, try LibKey Nomad Browser Extension.

Databases: Provide comprehensive access to up-to-date research articles, clinical guidelines, and medical literature.

Our Most Comprehensive Databases Include:

Please View All of Our Medical Databases.

View some of our latest and most popular eBooks:

Visuals and Videos dynamically enhance your clinical experiences.

• Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
  • 300+ narrated videos of real cadaver specimens.
• Anatomy.tv 
  • A suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Intuitive controls allow the user to zoom, rotate, and peel away layers.

• Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th Edition 
  • Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.

• Procedure Videos (formerly Procedures Consult) 
  • A procedure reference tool that offers access to complete details on how to prepare for, perform, and follow up on the most common procedures. Many are demonstrated with videos.

Patient Education: Used to improve health outcomes, empower patients, and support self-management.

When giving patients resources, ensure the resources are accessible to them in terms of language, readability, cultural relevance, and digital access. Resources should be at an appropriate reading level, easily understood, and ideally offered in multiple formats (print, digital, audio) to accommodate different learning styles and needs. Additionally, verify that patients have the necessary technology and digital literacy if resources are provided online. Accessible resources help patients better engage with their own care and make informed decisions about their health.

Resources

• MedlinePlus is a comprehensive online health information resource designed for patients, their families, and friends. It offers a wide range of topics, including:
  • Health conditions and wellness
  • Drugs and supplements
  • Medical tests
  • Genetics
  • Healthy recipes
  • Medical encyclopedia
• MedlinePlus Connect is a free service allowing electronic health record (EHR) systems to link users to health information easily.
  • How It Works
    • Request Information: MedlinePlus Connect responds to requests based on diagnosis codes, medication codes, lab test codes, and procedure codes.
    • Receive Links: When a system submits a code, MedlinePlus Connect provides links to relevant patient education materials.
    • Access Options: Available as a web application or web service, in both English and Spanish.
• UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource that offers comprehensive patient education resources designed to help patients and their families understand medical conditions and treatments.
  • Levels of Content
    • The Basics: Short overviews written in plain language, answering the most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
    • Beyond the Basics: Detailed reviews for readers who want in-depth information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

Test Review: Prepare for exams using case studies, question banks, test reviews, and practice tests.

Scroll below to see our test review resources:

• AccessEmergency Medicine

  Study materials and review questions for the emergency medicine clerkship and residency curriculum.

• AccessMedicine

  Extensive cases, flashcards, and review questions covering various specialties.

• AccessPediatrics

  Pediatric case files and multiple-choice questions for board reviews.

• AccessPharmacy

  Pharmacology case studies, care plans, exam preparation, and review.

• AccessSurgery

  Surgery-specific case studies, questions, and answers to prepare for surgical rotations.

• APhA Pharmacy Library

  Access over 200 interactive case studies and exam preparation and review via an interactive NAPLEX® Review functionality.

• Case Files Collection

  Extensive case studies and review questions for specific specialty areas.

• Exam Master

  Over 12,000 questions and explanations covering all 3 steps of the USMLE.

• First Aid Forward

  Clinical images, high-yield facts, cases, and essentials principles and organ systems across all high-yield subjects with subject-level quizzing & performance tracking.

• LWW Health Library

  Clinical and educational core texts with videos, images, and Q&A. Included: Integrated Pharmacy collection, Board Review Series (BRS), Clerkship collection, Premium Basic Sciences collection, and Orthopaedic Surgery collection.

• StatPearls

  Online question bank covers nursing, pharmacy, physician assistant, EMS-EMT basic, family medicine, internal medicine, radiology technology and USMLE Step 1, Step 2, and Step 3 prep.

For more about test review

See our Test Review Resource Page