Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Transfer Student Guide

Librarian

Librarian

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sarah LeMire
Contact:
Annex 420G
5000 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843
979-458-9785
Subjects: English

Welcome

This guide will help you navigate and discover the many different ways you can use the Libraries! 

Table of Contents

Welcome to the Libraries! Using library resources may or may not be new to you, the libraries want you to have all the answers at your finger times that TAMU has to offer! There are so many ways to get help from the Libraries. Services like AskUs and Get It For Me are available to you both in the libraries and online. If you have questions about where to find something, research, or anything else, stop in at one of the AskUs desks in the library or use the chat, email, or text options to ask questions virtually. By requesting an item through Get It For Me you can get access to materials we don't have available through the libraries or, during COVID, use the service to request materials on our shelves in the libraries since the stacks are currently closed for browsing. We have over 1100 databases filled with material of all kind for you to use in your research, all accessible online, and there are subject and course guides to help you along the way. 

This guide will highlight these various TAMU Libraries resources and services and how they benefit you.

If you have questions about any of these, please let us know! We are happy to help and answer any and all of your questions!

Did you know that the Libraries have 5 locations on the College Station campus?  

Each of our five libraries is open for students to study.  Students are not assigned to any specific library, and each library has its own features and atmosphere, so we encourage you to use whichever library (or libraries) best suits your needs.

To review each of the Libraries' hours and occupancy during the COVID-19 pandemic, visit the link below.

Study Spaces

Do you need a quiet place to study?  Or maybe you like a little background noise when you're studying?  Regardless of the type of study space you prefer, the University Libraries has you covered.

Quiet Study Spaces

The Libraries has designated quiet study spots in each of its locations.  Check out the link below to see where you can go for a quiet study spot.

Tip: It's a myth that Evans gets quieter the higher up you go!

Collaborative Study Spaces

Do you like a little bit of hustle and bustle around you when you're studying?  Or do you like to study with others (outside of COVID times, of course)?  Do you need a place to attend a Zoom session but don't want to bother others?  You can find these types of study spaces in all of the library locations, too.  Check out the link below for the Libraries' designated collaborative study areas.

There is a subject librarian for every subject! They are here to help you with research for what ever class you are in. Subject librarians can help you find a specific article, determine which databases are best for your research, help you refine your search terms, and more! 

Go to the library homepage and select the research drop down menu. From there, you can choose "Find My Librarian."

On the next page, you can browse or type the subject you are studying. For example, if you are looking for help with a government class, you can type "government" into the search bar and the librarian for that subject will come up. You can find the subject librarian's contact information on this page if you have a question or would like to set up a virtual consultation. 

Searching for Databases

The Libraries have over 1100 databases available to you, which can be overwhelming!  However, there are many different ways to find relevant and specific databases for your research. One easy way it to search for databases specific to your major. Start at the library homepage and click on the "Databases" button.

When you get to the next page, you can click on the "Subjects" box and a dropdown menu will show you all of the subjects that databases have been sorted into. So if you are an English major, you could chose the English subject and be shown all of the relevant databases for English.

Tip:

Searching for databases by subject is only one way of many of finding relevant resources. Here are some FAQ regarding finding databases:

Q. How do I find the right database?

A. The Libraries subscribe to a large number of databases that can help you find and access information on a particular topic.  To find the right database:

  1. Consult a subject guide.  Our guides include a list of databases relevant to that subject, topic, or discipline.
  2. Consult a class guide.  Your instructor may have worked with one of our librarians to gather together important resources for your class into a class guide, including recommended databases.
  3. Browse our A - Z list of databases.  Our database A - Z list allows you to browse our databases by subject and type.
  4. Click on the 'Databases' tab on the Library home page.  A list of 'popular databases' will be shown.
  5. Contact the library. The librarians and staff at the University Libraries would be happy to help you find the correct database to use for your research.  We can also help you with your search strategy. Try our Find My Librarian application to find the librarian specializing in your area of interest.

Q. You don't have the database I need. How can I request it?

You can use the General Libraries suggest a purchase form, or the Medical Sciences Library Suggest a Purchase Form to request a database purchase, or a purchase of any other resource.  Please provide as much information as possible.  Our acquisitions group will evaluate the request to ensure that it meets with our collection development policies and fits within our budget.  We will notify you of our decision. 

Many databases are similar when it comes to navigation. This tutorial will show you how to navigate and efficiently utilize EBSCOhost databases. While this is specifically for EBSCOhost, very similar techniques are used within other types of databases.

If you are more familiar with database searching in general, and are looking to up your skills, this tutorial feature more advanced searching techniques.

Tip: If you ever feel stuck of lost in a search, you can always ask a librarian for help! They will be able to walk you through your search terms, help you find different/new ones, as well as help you find other relevant databases to help maximize results.

Citations Resources

You might be familiar with creating and using citations. If not, check out our Citation Basics guide to help get you started with the basics of citations. If you are looking for better ways to manage and organize your citations, check out these citation managers:

Citation managers can help format your citations, add citations to your documents, and create the reference/works cited list of your research. 

 

Aside from the Libraries' citation guides, there are many other resources available for citation help:

  • Most citation styles have an official citation guide. These are great places to double check formatting and find different versions of the citation.
  • Purdue OWL is a website that has numerous citation style guides.
  • The Libraries offer workshops on citations and using citation managers, so check out the Library Calendar to see when upcoming sessions are.

Tip: No matter what you use to make your citations, be it a citation generator, manager, or a template from an style guide, it is a best practice to always double check all the elements, punctuation, and formatting!

While you can't browse the stacks this semester, you can still search for and request books via our contactless pick up service. 

Go to the library homepage and use the search bar to search for the title or subject that you are interested in. 

Browse the results page to find something that interests you, or use the limiters on the left hand side to limit your search results by format to books only. Once you find the book you are interested in, click "View record in LibCat."

If the book is available, click the "Get It: 4-7 days" button to request the book. Library staff members will pull the book from the shelves and you will receive and email when it is ready. When you receive the notification, you can come to Evans with your student ID to pick up the books!

How does printing work in the library?  Good question!

The Libraries' printers are OAL printers, meaning that you can use your standard print allotment to print in the library.  You can do this in a couple of ways. 

Option 1: Print from a library computer

If you're working a library computer, you can send a print job to a nearby print kiosk. See the link below for step-by-step instructions.

Tip: If one kiosk is busy, you can go to another one to release your print job. See below for more instructions on releasing print jobs.

Option 2: Print from your own device

You can use AggiePrint to send a print job from your own device to a library printer.  See the links below for instructions..

Releasing print jobs

Regardless of which option you choose, you'll have to release the print job at one of the Libraries' print kiosks.  See the link below for instructions on releasing print jobs.

Still have questions? 
See the Libraries' FAQ below or the Help page on the Libraries' website for more information.