Skip to main content

Research Guides



This is the most basic way to organize your library, into collection folders. Items in your library can live in as many collections as you like.  Use this button to add collections to your library:



More on collections from Zotero.

Adding Items by Identifier

Have the book in front of you and want to add it to your Zotero library without having to search for a citation?

Use the "Add Item by Identifier" feature.

Add by Identifier

If you have a book's ISBN, an online article's DOI or PMID number, just click the magic wand button: "Add item by identifier." Type in the book or article's number, and Zotero will automatically download its information and save it to your library.


Archiving Websites

To archive a web page, click the “Create New Item from Current Page” icon (icon image). This will create a web page item in your library with basic information from the page.


If “Automatically take snapshots when creating items from web pages” is enabled in the General pane of the Zotero preferences, a copy of the web page will be added as a child item. To see the page as it was on the day you captured it, double-click the snapshot icon, as shown below.


item with snapshot


More on archiving from Zotero's website.

Getting Stuff Into Your Library (Zotero Guide)


Tagging is an easy way to categorize items by attaching descriptive words to them. You can tag your information with whatever relevant keyword or term you would like associated with that given item. These tags allow you to sift through your information in a personal way, by the categories that you deem relevant.

When you import items via library databases or catalogs, be aware that tags are sometimes automatically imported alongside these items, using information stored in the database. You may want to keep or delete these tags, depending on their relevance and utility.

To add a tag to an item simply select the tags tab tabs in the right column and hit the add button.


More on tags from Zotero.

Attach Files

Zotero can make files available to users in two ways: by storing a copy or by linking to them. Storing a copy will add that file to the Zotero data directory, separate from the original file. Linking will simply refer to the original file without creating a copy or changing its location. Stored files will be included with any file sync, while linked files will remain only links. Any type of file can be added to the Zotero library, either on its own or associated with another item.

More on files from Zotero.


Related Items

The Related tab allows you to associate a given record in a library with any other item, whether or not they are in the same collection. Within the Related tab simply click on the Add button, a pop-up screen will show your libraries, pick any item within the same library then click OK.  Your items are now related.  Some uses for related items are:

  • connecting book chapters to their parent volume
  • connecting book reviews to the book reviewed
  • connecting different versions of a work (e.g., connecting a lecture that eventually became an article that eventually became a book)
  • or anything else that helps you organize your research

More on related from Zotero.