Skip to main content

Research Guides

Newspapers

Newspaper Aggregators

News aggregators collect syndicated news content from around the world. Typically these aggregators provide current news (usually within the last day or week) as well as a backfile reaching into the 20 or 30 years. Aggregators usually provide sophisticated tools for proximity searching, so check the databases help files if you have trouble finding information or narrowing your search.  

Tips for Searching News Aggregators

Newspaper aggregators like Lexis Nexis and Factiva contain enormous amounts of information. Because of their size, simple keyword searches often bring back too many results, or many results that are not relevant. To counter this, aggregators often provide users with sophisticated search tools like proximity operators. Proximity operators are operators that allow the searcher to specify the distance between keywords within a document. By using these operators, searchers are able to retrieve more concise and relevant sets of records. Some common operators include:

  • (W) or ()  retrieves terms adjacent to each other and in the exact order specified

             space(w)shuttle   

  • (nW) n is the number of words that should separate the terms in the order specified.

              punk(10w)recording    

  •  (N) retrieves terms adjacent to each other but in any order.  

               grounded(N)theory

  • (nN) n is the # of words that should separate the terms in either order.

               conspiracy(10N)theory            

The exact syntax used for proximity operators often varies by database, so be sure to look at the database's “help” screen for additional information.

 

Current News on the Web

  • All Africa : This search engine provides subscribers with a powerful research tool for exploring the AllAfrica story archive, which contains over a million articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
  • Google News : Searches last month of English language newspaper websites, many of which provide free access to papers.
  • Internet Public Library: Newspapers : Contains links to US and international papers. Also contains links to online magazines, including news magazines .
  • MilitaryPeriscope.com : The latest military news from around the world.
  • Newseum Front Pages : Images of newspaper front pages from across the world
  • Newslink : Massive collection online news. Also includes links to television news sites.
  • Newspapermap.com : This site provides an interactive map that links to newspapers across the world. Provides direct links online versions of the international papers.
  • Onlinenewspapers.com : Organized by geographical region, this directory for online newspapers provides links to thousands of sites from around the world.
  • SiloBreaker : Free online news search service that includes several useful analytical tools
  • Yahoo! News : News page provides latest news, trending subjects, and a "news search" box

Online Newspaper Directories