Newspapers

• 19th Century Masterfile : Contains core US and UK periodicals and newspapers from 1802-1906.

• Accessible Archives : Contains several collections from the 18th-19th centuries including "The Civil War: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective" and "African American Newspapers: the 19th Century."

• Alternative Press Index (1991+) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990) : Indexes (no full text) to alternative, left wing, and radical newspapers and magazines.

• America's Historical Newspapers :  This database reproduces and indexes over 700 U.S. newspapers covering 1690 to 1922, with a special emphasis on Texas and other states west of the Mississippi River.

• Chronicling America : This online resource made available by the Library of Congress provides full pdf scans from historic American newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.
• Dallas Morning News (1885-1977) :  This is a large Texas newspaper available through the America's Historical Newspapers database.

• ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides full text and images for major US and African American newspapers dating as far back as 1764. All of the ProQuest Newspapers use the same interface and allow for targeted searching using various limiters (e.g., date, section, etc.). Please note: Historical Newspapers may not be searched simultaneously with non-historical papers.

  • Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
  • Baltimore Sun (1837-1985)
  • Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
  • Christian Science Monitor (1908-1995)
  • Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
  • Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
  • New York Times (1851-2009)
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
  • Wall Street Journal (1889-1991)
  • Washington Post (1877-1991)

ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers

•  
  • Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
  • Chicago Defender (1910-1975)

World Newspaper Archive (Readex) : This database provides many historical titles from North America, but is also a good source for finding historical African and South American papers.

• Early English Books Online (EEBO) : A digital facsimile of every UK book from 1473-1700.
• Latin American Newspapers : Provides access to pre 1923 historical Latin American newspapers.
• London Times Digital Archive, 1795-2014 : This is a large paper published in London, England.  Please note:  The Times is not published on Sundays (The Sunday Times was a separate title until the 1960s and is not included in this database); the electronic collection also does not include the Times Educational, Times Higher Education or Times Literary Supplements.
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers
  • Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)

• Historical Newspapers Online : Web portal to US newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
• Historical U.S. Newspapers on the Internet : Excellent resource guide created by Bowling Green State University. Gives links to historical U.S. Newspapers
• Historical Worldwide Newspapers on the Internet : An extensive list of international newspapers. Organizes papers by subject and gives links to other online world newspaper subject guides and aggregators.
• ICON: Newspaper Digitization Projects : links to US and International international newspaper collection projects.