Research Guides: Accounting: Starting Points

Best Bet Databases

Accounting Research Manager
CCH Accounting Research Manager (ARM) is a database within CCH AnswerConnect (a research platform developed by Wolters Kluwer for tax and accounting professionals). ARM contains the complete texts of standards and rulings from a wide range of accounting-related organizations, such as from the AICPA, FASB, EITF, PCAOB, IASB, and the OMB. It also contains the rules and regulations of the SEC, as well as interpretations and examples for all areas covered.

**NOTE: Off-campus, including distance education, users please use this link to access the ARM database.

Courtesy breakdown of acronyms listed above:

AICPA - American Institute of Certified Public Accountants

CCH - formerly Commerce Clearing House

EITF - Emerging Issues Task Force

FASB - Financial Accounting

IASB - International Accounting Standards Board

PCAOB - Public Company Accounting Oversight Board

OMB - Office of Management and Budgets

Checkpoint Federal Tax Library with AICPA Materials
**NOTE: Instructions for registering for a student account are available through this link.**
Contains current and archival professional federal tax research materials including U.S. Tax Reporter, Federal Tax Coordinator 2d, Warren Gorham & Lamont Financial Reporting and Management Sources with AICPA materials, and RIA's editorial analyses.
Bloomberg Tax
Provides access to the Tax Management Portfolios written by the Bureau of National Affairs (BNA), documents written by tax practitioners/topic experts that explore narrow tax topics in-depth and are updated regularly to reflect new developments. We subscribe to the Federal, Compensation and Benefits, Estate Planning and Tax Practice series sections of this database.

Accounting, Organizations and Society
Peer-reviewed, international journal concerned particularly with the relationship between accounting and human behavior, organizational structures, and the social and political environment.
The Accounting Review
Journal published for members of the American Accounting Association.
Journal of Accountancy
Published for members of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants; includes articles, interview, profiles and news/legislative updates.
Journal of Accounting Research
Academic journal focused on articles, research reports, and commentary on all aspects of accounting.
Journal of Accounting and Economics
This journal focuses particularly on research that applies economic theory to accounting phenomena.
Review of Accounting Studies
Academic journal reporting research in accounting including theoretical, empirical and experimental work.
European Accounting Review
Academic journal focused on research addressing accounting concerns in a European context.
Auditing
Journal produced by the American Accounting Association; presents articles of original research regarding improvements to auditing theory and/or methodology.