Newspaper Aggregators
News aggregators collect syndicated news content from around the world. Typically these aggregators provide current news (usually within the last day or week) as well as a backfile reaching into the 20 or 30 years. Aggregators usually provide sophisticated tools for proximity searching, so check the databases help files if you have trouble finding information or narrowing your search.
- FactivaOffers flexible searching of a collection of news and business information from over 14,000 sources from more than 150 countries. This collection includes the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, and the Associated Press.
- Library PressDisplaySame day full-image versions of 500 newspapers from 70 countries, in 37 languages. Most have 30 to 60 day archives.
- Nexis UniOptions of searching searches selected major U.S. newspapers and wire services; “News All” searches articles from more U.S. papers; “Non-U.S. Newspapers” covers English language sources only; “Non-English Language News” covers papers in Spanish, French, Dutch, Italian, German and Portuguese.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCO)Recent news articles and reports from 28 major national US newspapers and an additional 260 regional newspapers. The date coverage varies by newspaper, but generally includes reports from the last 5-10 years. It also includes tv and radio transcripts from major providers such as ABC, CBS, and CNN news.
- Texas Reference Center (EBSCO)This EBSCO database collects various Texas newspapers and magazines from the last ten years
- World News ConnectionSource for international coverage of topics by non-US media sources. Searchable by topic, region and headlines. Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), based on monitoring & analysis by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Coverage from the late 1990s to the present.
- Access World News Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos
Published by: NewsBank, Inc.
Current News on the Web
- All Africa : This search engine provides subscribers with a powerful research tool for exploring the AllAfrica story archive, which contains over a million articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
- Google News : Searches last month of English language newspaper websites, many of which provide free access to papers.
- Internet Public Library: Newspapers : Contains links to US and international papers. Also contains links to online magazines, including news magazines .
- MilitaryPeriscope.com : The latest military news from around the world.
- Newseum Front Pages : Images of newspaper front pages from across the world
- Newslink : Massive collection online news. Also includes links to television news sites.
- Newspapermap.com : This site provides an interactive map that links to newspapers across the world. Provides direct links online versions of the international papers.
- Onlinenewspapers.com : Organized by geographical region, this directory for online newspapers provides links to thousands of sites from around the world.
- Silobreaker : Free online news search service that includes several useful analytical tools
- Yahoo! News : News page provides latest news, trending subjects, and a "news search" box
Online Newspaper Directories
- ICON Newspaper DatabaseThis database of the International Coalition on Newspapers provides information on newspapers published outside of the United States. Includes descriptions and holdings of specific institutions.
- Library of Congress Newspapers in MicroformCovers microform collection from 1948-1988 for both US and foreign countries.
- Rowell's & Ayers's American Newspaper DirectoryUS newspaper directory from 1869 to 1920.
Research Tools
- Research ToolsList of online resources for Journalism.
- MegaSourcesGreat links for journalists
Print Reference Sources
- American Newspaper Journalists,1690-1872 byCall Number: PN451 .D53 v.43ISBN: 0810317214Publication Date: 1985-11-15From the 1690 banning of America's first newspaper after one issue until the American Revolution, publishers struggled to exercise their right to print the social, political and economic debates of the day without restraint. In post-Revolutionary debates over the adoption of the Constitution, states' rights and the Reconstruction issues that followed the Civil War, newspapers have continued to serve as a forum for popular (and unpopular) expression. 66 pioneers who created the American press and contributed to its evolution from a position of complete subjection to authority in the late 17th century to political and economic independence by the end of the 19th century are profiled in this DLB volume. 66 entries include: Samuel Adams, Henry Ward Beecher, James Gordon Bennett, Cassius Marcellus Clay,Frederick Douglass, Benjamin Franklin, Horace Greeley, Sara Jane Clarke Lippincott, Thomas Paine, Anne Royall, James Watson Webb and John Peter Zenger.
- American Newspaper Journalists, 1873-1900 byCall Number: PN451 .D53 v.23ISBN: 0810311453Publication Date: 1983-10-14During the last three decades of the 19th century, the American newspaper completed its evolution from a vehicle of opinion into a medium which emphasized news, human interest and entertainment. This change took newspapers away from politicians and put them in the hands of reporters, editors and columnists. The United States was moving rapidly from an agrarian to an industrial society, its cities were blossoming with a flood of 11 million immigrants and the nation was recovering from the wounds of the Civil War. This volume presents the lives and careers of 44 journalists, active during this era when the population of the United States doubled, the number of daily newspapers increased fourfold and the total circulation increased six times over. 44 entries include: Mary Clemmer Ames, Ambrose Bierce, Samuel Langhorne Clemens, Finley Peter Dunne, Eugene Field, Henry W. Grady, Joel Chandler Harris, Bill Nye, Joseph Pulitzer, Jacob Riis, Carl Schurz, Harvey W. Scott and Benjamin Wood.
- American Newspaper Journalists, 1901-1925 byCall Number: PN451 .D53 v.25ISBN: 0810317044Publication Date: 1984-03-15Flamboyant personalities and raucous journalism have been the stereotype of the newspaper world during the era covered in this DLB volume, but the early 20th century also marked a period of growth when newspapers were establishing reputations for solid, factual reporting of the news. The number of papers published in the United States peaked at 2,600 in 1915, then began to decline; their combined circulation, though, continued to increase (231% from 1900 to 1930).The 44 personalities profiled in this DLB volume are representative of the range of journalists from this age-from flashy and flamboyant newshounds to the publishing pioneers who helped to shape the course of journalism for generations to follow.44 entries include: Winifred Black, Arthur Brisbane, Irwin S. Cobb, Floyd Gibbons, William Randolph Hearst, Ben Hecht, Ring Lardner, Charles MacArthur, W.O. McGeehan, Frank A. Munsey, E.W. Scripps, Melville Stone and Henry Watterson.
- American Newspaper Journalists, 1926-1950 byCall Number: PN451 .D53 v.29ISBN: 0810317079Publication Date: 1984-08-15In the span of a quarter century, America witnessed the dawn of mass communications-commercial radio programming blossomed, mass-circulation magazines more than doubled their circulations, and television debuted. Though the combination of competition from new media and economic hard times led to a decline in the number of daily newspapers published in the United States, their circulation grew from 30 to 50 million during the period 1920-1950. Many newspapers were acquired by chains. Coverage of World War II was probably journalism's greatest achievement during these years, while the era's most significant changes included the expanded coverage of government, the beginnings of interpretive reporting and the invention of the syndicated political column. War correspondents, syndicated columnists, political 'pundits' and news analysts are among the prominent journalists found in this DLB Volume's 54 biographical entries. 54 entries include: Willis J. Abbot, Franklin P. Adams, Dorothy Day, rank E. Gannett, Arthur Krock, Max Lerner, Walter Lippmann, Anne O'Hare McCormick, H.L. Mencken, Joseph Pulitzer, Jr. Ernie Pyle, Red Smith, Dorothy Thompson and Walter Winchell.
Consider the Source by Call Number: PN4833 .B76 2007ISBN: 9780910965774Publication Date: 2007-06-12An A-to-Z guide to the best and worst news and information sites on the Web, this unique book features 100 in-depth, critical reviews, showing what to expect before you log on and revealing the motives and bias behind each resource. Reviews are divided into five sections--Overview, What You'll Find There, Why You Should Visit, Keep This in Mind, and Off the Record--and each review concludes with a rating on a one-to-five scale.
Tips for Searching News Aggregators
Newspaper aggregators like Lexis Nexis and Factiva contain enormous amounts of information. Because of their size, simple keyword searches often bring back too many results, or many results that are not relevant. To counter this, aggregators often provide users with sophisticated search tools like proximity operators. Proximity operators are operators that allow the searcher to specify the distance between keywords within a document. By using these operators, searchers are able to retrieve more concise and relevant sets of records. Some common operators include:
-
(W) or () retrieves terms adjacent to each other and in the exact order specified
space(w)shuttle
-
(nW) n is the number of words that should separate the terms in the order specified.
punk(10w)recording
- (N) retrieves terms adjacent to each other but in any order.
grounded(N)theory
-
(nN) n is the # of words that should separate the terms in either order.
conspiracy(10N)theory
The exact syntax used for proximity operators often varies by database, so be sure to look at the database's “help” screen for additional information.
Historical Newspapers: Electronic Indexes
-
19th Century Masterfile : Contains core US and UK periodicals and newspapers from 1802-1906.
-
Accessible Archives : Contains several collections from the 18th-19th centuries including "The Civil War: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective" and "African American Newspapers: the 19th Century."
-
Alternative Press Index (1991+) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990) : Indexes (no full text) to alternative, left wing, and radical newspapers and magazines.
-
America's Historical Newspapers : This database reproduces and indexes over 700 U.S. newspapers covering 1690 to 1922, with a special emphasis on Texas and other states west of the Mississippi River.
- Chronicling America : This online resource made available by the Library of Congress provides full pdf scans from historic American newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.
- Dallas Morning News (1885-1977) : This is a large Texas newspaper available through the America's Historical Newspapers database.
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides full text and images for major US and African American newspapers dating as far back as 1764. All of the ProQuest Newspapers use the same interface and allow for targeted searching using various limiters (e.g., date, section, etc.). Please note: Historical Newspapers may not be searched simultaneously with non-historical papers.
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
- Baltimore Sun (1837-1985)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
- Christian Science Monitor (1908-1995)
- Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
- New York Times (1851-2005)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
- Wall Street Journal (1889-1991)
- Washington Post (1877-1991)
ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers
- World Newspaper Archive (Readex) : This database provides many historical titles from North America, but is also a good source for finding historical African and South American papers.
Historical News on the Web
- Historical Newspapers Online : Web portal to US newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
- Historical U.S. Newspapers on the Internet : Excellent resource guide created by Bowling Green State University. Gives links to historical U.S. Newspapers
- Historical Worldwide Newspapers on the Internet : An extensive list of international newspapers. Organizes papers by subject and gives links to other online world newspaper subject guides and aggregators.
- ICON: Newspaper Digitization Projects : links to US and International international newspaper collection projects.
Historical Newspapers -- International
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Published by: ProQuest - Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCreated in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), the World Newspaper Archive provides access to historical (pre-1923) Latin American newspapers.
Published by: Readex - Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to the digital copies of the Times of London dating from 1785 to 2014.
Published by: Gale/Cengage Learning, Inc. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer This link opens in a new windowThe Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Published by: ProQuest