Research Guides: Journalism: Magazines & Trade Journals

Magazines & Trade Journals

Flipster
Provides access to best-selling digital magazines from top publishers presented as full color issues and flips from page to page.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
Provides access to the most searched magazines across the Gale OneFile products and presents as individual articles.

Sampling of trade/professional focused periodical databases. They can also be found in subject-specific databases.

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry
Provides searchable access to more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, etc.
The Business Journals
Provides access to national and local metropolitan business newspapers.
*Note - An individual account must be created to access content.
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts
Provides access to articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines as well as more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets.
Military Database
Provides access to full text articles from over 400 titles covering topics across all government and military branches including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more
Vocational and Career Collection
Provides full text access to nearly 340 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more

Alternative Press Index
Provides full text access to journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Independent Voices
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced during the latter half of the 20th century.

Sampling of individual title databases. These can also be found using the discovery search (general library search bar), multi-disciplinary databases, and subject-specific databases.

The Atlantic Magazine Archive Full text, digitized issues from 1857-2014, covering events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary.
CQ Magazine Each issue contains an unbiased, objective and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week. Browse issues going back to 1983. Also includes a floor vote search or browse votes by topic or date.
Esquire Magazine Archive Delivers coverage of the award-winning American men's magazine and includes more than 900 issues. Covers 1933-2014.
Fortune Magazine Archive Provides news and analysis of both American and, later, international business, economics, technology, and industry. Covers 1930-2000
JET Magazine Archive JET Magazine Archive covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus. It includes over 3,000 issues providing a broad view of news, culture, and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
Life Magazine Archive Provides a comprehensive cover-to-cover access from the first 1936 issue through 2000.
Maclean's Magazine Archive Provides access to the leading Canadian news and general interest magazine from 1905-2015.
National Geographic Magazine Archive. 1888-2020 Provides online access to National Geographic Magazine. Covers 1888-2020
The Newsweek Magazine Archive, 1933-2012 Provides full text access to Newsweek Magazine, presented in page-image format and scanned from cover to cover. Covers 1933-2012
People Magazine Archive Provides full text access to People Magazine, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Covers 1974-2000
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive Provides full text access to Sports Illustrated Magazine, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Covers 1954-2000
Time Magazine Archive Provides full text access to Time Magazine, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Covers 1923-2000
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive Covers the magazine from the beginning of its three predecessor titles. The magazine features a broad variety of topics in current events, politics and business, and is well known for its ranked lists of businesses and institutions.
Vanity Fair Magazine Archive Provides access to the magazine in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format, dating from its very first issue in 1913.