Sociology

► Statista  [TAMU]
        contains international statistics, facts, and market data taken from free and proprietary sources.

• Example - What is the number of social networks users, the most followed Instagram accounts, and YouTube audiences in the United States in 2021, by age and gender? Adoption rate of generative AI adoption in the workplace in the United States 2023, by generation?
  Try: https://www.statista.com/markets/    or do a keyword search.
  
  TIPS: Statista is also one of the main data / dataset sources used by Google Dataset Search. Browse categories like: -Society (Crime & Law Enforcement, Demographics, Education & Science, Geography & Nature, Historical Data, Religion...) / -Internet (Communications, Cyber Crime & Security, Demographics & Use, Mobile Internet & Apps, Online Search, Online Video & Entertainment, Reach & Traffic, Social Media & User-Generated),  / -Sports & Recreation (Art & Culture, Gambling, Hobbies, Parks & Outdoors, Professional Sports, Sports & Fitness, Wellness & Spas...)

► ICPSR  [TAMU]

• ICPSR supplies data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. Many of the datasets found in Dimensions also come from ICPSR.
  
  Example - I am looking for the thematic collections of datasets about criminal justice, firearm safety, healthcare, HIV, Covid, effective learning/teaching data...
  Try: https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/pages/ICPSR/thematic-collections.html
  
  TIPS:  National archive of criminal justice data, Child and family data archive, Data sharing for demographic research, Data Archive for interdisciplinary research on learning, DataLumos, firearm safety among children and teens, Education research data sharing initiative, and more. Many of the datasets found in Dimensions come from ICPSR.

► Data-Planet Statistical DataSets [TAMU]

• ProQuest Statistical DataSets provides access to 1.5 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface. Scan the contents of over 530 datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. Access to extensive and current data in 20-, 30-, even 100-year time series.
   

  Example - I am looking for comparable data about Education, agriculture, economy, energy, government, cost of living, international trade...
  
  TIPS: To browser for a topic, go to Datasets > Select a subject > Education for example includes enrollment dropouts, completions, faculty salaries and more. You may want to look at the example in the Compare Variable's page which compares TAMU & UT graduates enrolled in the field of Sociology.

► ROPER  [TAMU]

• Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms with topics like abortion, cold war, congressional election, health, environment, guns, religion, race relation etc.
  
  Example - Looking for polling datasets about seniors & aging, religion, immigrants, LGBT, U.S. roles in the world, congressional elections ... 
  Try: https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/data-highlights/topics-glance
  
  TIPS: There are over 2000 entries and more than 170 topics just for seniors and aging alone. For other topics, go to the topics page and use the filters on the left to see the topics interested.

► Dimensions Analytics - Scholarly output and impacts of authors and institutions

• TAMU library has an institutional license to both Dimensions Plus and Dimensions Analytics, a "linked research knowledge system" (database) bringing multiple content types into a single place for improved global discovery and analysis. See the how to use Dimensions page or click on the tab on the left panel of this guide.
  
  Example - What are the total number of publications, datasets, grants, patents, clinical trials or other scholarly outputs by TAMU?

► Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER Regional Economic Data Toolkit)

• Designed to help researchers better understand economic development progress and policies by bring together four unique datasets: Cost of Living, State Incentives, State Expenditures, and the Diversity Index.
• Tips: This is one of the key sources for COST OF LIVING data.
  
  4 Datasets: Cost of Living, State Incentives, State Expenditures, & Diversity Index.

  
  Example - I want to compare the 4 largest counties in Texas in the areas of Industry Diversity / Function Diversity / Occupation Diversity & / Knowledge Cluster Diversity

  Diversity Index: Go to the Diversity Index page > to select State > County >Click on Search > A comparison table will be generated. Then click on the Export link to see the spreadsheet for the data.
  
  Example - If I am earning $50,000 after tax dollars in Dallas Texas, what is the the comparable after-tax income in Austin Texas?
  Use the Calculator on the page to see the differences. The results show the comparable amount plus a table of goods and services the comparable amount could purchase.
  Cost of Living Index: Published quarterly since 1968, the Cost of Living Index has been the most consistent source of city-to-city cost comparisons available. The historical dataset includes average price data for over 60 goods and services since 1990, allowing researchers to compare prices over time. The county level index includes cost of living data for 3,114 U.S. counties and equivalents.

► Pew Research Center for the People & the Press

• Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
  
  TOPICS includes Politics & Policy, International Affairs, Immigration & Migration, Race & Ethnicity, Religion, Generations & Age, Gender & LGBTQ, Family & Relationships, Economy & Work, Science, Internet & Technology, News Habits & Media and more.
   
• Example - Abortion
  (1) BROWSE  the Topics page to see if the topic interested is available.
  (2) SEARCH for a topic. For example, abortion.
  
  TIPS: Try its FEATURED RESEARCH ON THIS TOPIC  link. The featured research page on ABORTION includes a 44-page long report with data on voters, methodologies, responses and other reported contents. You could also look at ALL results and then limit them to Date, Formats, Countries, Topics or other applicable areas.

► Polling the Nations [TAMU]

• This international numerical, statistical database is searchable by topic, country and polling agencies.
  
  Example - Why you think mass shootings happen more often in the United States than other countries?  Try: https://ptn.infobase.com/topics.
  
  TIPS: To browse or search for public opinion topics, go to https://ptn.infobase.com/topics. Choose a topic or click on an alphabet, for example, S > Social Issues and then see the Social Issues' page to  https://ptn.infobase.com/topics/VG9waWM6NDQ5Ng==

► U.S. Census Bureau

• Provides current facts and figures about America’s people, places, and economy. Some data types: The Decennial Census is the once-a-decade population and housing count required by the U.S. Constitution. The Economic Census measures the nation’s economy every 5 years. The Census of Governments provides comprehensive data about the nearly 90,000 state and local governments in the nation every 5 years. The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing annual survey that shows what the U.S. population looks like and how it lives and more.
  
  Example - How to see the visualization for Income Inequality data?
  Try: https://www.census.gov/topics/income-poverty/income-inequality.html

• Tips: U.S. Census Bureau Topics - https://www.census.gov/topics.html. Look at the bottom of each topic's page. You will find the visualization of the data about that topic.