Research Guides: Entomology: Methods and Protocols

Methods and Protocols

JoVE: Science Education
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE): Science Education teaches laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. Our subscription includes videos on techniques used in biochemistry, biology, chemistry, and physics.
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International
Agricultural analytical methods, chemical and microbiological.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Chemistry Laboratory Guidebook (CLG)
The CLG contains methods for the analysis of food composition, food additives, nutrients, veterinary drug and pesticide residues.
EPA Collection of Methods
This website contains links to various EPA test methods including pesticides.
Approved Methods AACC
American Association of Cereal Chemists International approved methods of analysis among cereal laboratories.
Bacteriological Analytical Manual (BAM)
FDA's Bacteriological Analytical Manual (the BAM) is the agency's preferred laboratory procedures for the detection in food and cosmetic products of pathogens (bacterial, viral, parasitic, plus yeast and mold) and of microbial toxins.
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water & Wastewater
Provides standard analytical methods for water testing (e.g., metals, organics, toxicity, physical properties, etc.).

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Protocols This link opens in a new window
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide.
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
Springer Protocols is an electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Springer Protocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. The Protocols are compiled from the book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

University Libraries Standards Guide
This webpage provides information about various technical and testing standards (e.g., ASTM) we own or have access to through subscriptions.