Africana Studies

A current directory of 5,581 repositories and 160,000 collections of primary source material housed across the United States. Archive Finder includes the entire collection of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections, and extensive records submitted by repositories.

ArchiveGrid is an online service that provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Published by: Adam Matthew Digital

Provides streaming video access to titles purchased by the library.
Alternate titles: Kanopy streaming services
Published by: Kanopy Streaming Service

The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains over 850,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
Published by: ProQuest

Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Includes nearly 100,000 dissertations from 1933 through 1955. This print index was compiled annually by the H.W. Wilson Company for the National Research Council and The American Council of Learned Societies by the Association of Research Libraries. The content in American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 represents the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by U.S. universities during that period of time.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Black Studies Center covers scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Black Thought and Culture contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, from colonial times to the present, covering the published works of leading African Americans. Sources include published non-fiction works, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Recent updates include a new interface and more issues of the Black Panther newspaper.

Black Women Writers offers over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays from Africa, North America, Europe and the Caribbean. It brings together the many voices of women in the African Diaspora from over 20 countries.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select collects more than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
Alternate titles: CLC Select
Published by: Gale/Cengage Learning, Inc.

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles from 1966 to the present. In addition to journal articles from leading education journals, ERIC also contains conference proceedings, technical reports and research analyses, dissertations, teaching guides, instructional materials, books, and government documents.
Published by: OCLC

Gender Studies Database covers sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Published by: Johns Hopkins University Press

JSTOR is a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. Well respected Africana Studies journals are included in JSTOR such as Callaloo, The Journal of African American History, and the Journal of Negro Education and many more.

Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access for readers of all ages and skill levels. Beginning-level users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.

This resource also searches the Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online.
Alternate titles: CLR; Children's literature review online; CMLC; Classical and medieval literature criticism online; LC; Literature criticism from fourteen hundred to eighteen hundred; PC; SC; Shakespearean criticism yearbook; SSC; 19th century literature criticism; NCLC; TCLC; CLC Autobiography series SAAS; SATA autobiography series; Something about the author autobiography series; DLBYB; DLB documentary series; DLBDS
Published by: Gale/Cengage Learning, Inc.

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.

Project Muse is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE contains content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers including the recent journal Black Women, Gender, and Families.

A collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Alternate titles: PQDTG; PQDT; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - UK & Ireland
Published by: ProQuest

Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Texas A&M University Theses and Dissertations.
Alternate titles: TXSpace
Published by: Texas A&M University

From the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research, this database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. The nearly 800 essential sources in Women's Studies International include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and web documents and grey literature.
Alternate titles: WRI
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)