Skip to main content

Research Guides

International Studies

Academic eBooks & Leisure Reading eBooks

We also have been provided free access to additional content on some of our existing platforms. Links to these have been added to the Trials page:

·  Flipster (Free access) – For your leisure reading pleasure, EBSCO has turned on access to over 1,800 magazines (including Classic Trains, Mike!) through June 30.

·  Guilford Press Journals - The publisher has opened up free access to all of their journals through July 31.

·  JoVE: Science Education (Free Access) – The publisher has turned free access to all 30 Science Education collections we have not yet purchased (Thanks, Ana!), through June 15.
************************************

We’ve received a few requests for leisurely reading and I’m happy to announce that Texshare now provides access to a collection on the BiblioBoard platform that includes popular non-fiction such as travel, nutrition and health, and gardening, along with adult and young adult fiction. This has been added to the Databases search and LibGuides.

ProQuest has created a Coronavirus Research Database. This has also been added to the Databases search and LibGuides.

We also have a few new trials:

The latter two are noteworthy in that they provide access to ebooks including the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th and 7th editions), the Concise Guide to APA Style, and more than 160 other books published by APA Books as well as titles from other publishers. The thing to note with both of them is that users must create a free account in order to gain access. These can all be found on our Trials page.

************************************
An announcement from Diana Ramirez, our Education Librarian:

The American Psychological Association is working with VitalSource and RedShelf to provide online access to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, as well as over 160 APA book titles - until May 25, 2020.

The updated APA Style LibGuide includes the links to VitalSource and RedShelf: http://tamu.libguides.com/apa

  • You must create an account in order to access ebooks on VitalSource and RedShelf. 
  • Note: RedShelf requires you to add your birth date during account creation.  

See also the link to APA’s new tutorial “Basics of 7th Edition APA Style” - https://apastyle.apa.org/instructional-aids/tutorials-webinars

************************************

British Online Archives

Hosts over 3 million records drawn from both private and public archives. These records are organized thematically, covering 1,000 years of world history, from politics and warfare to slavery and medicine. BOA includes dozens of primary-source collections related to British History and International Relations; Global and Colonial History; North American History; and the First and Second World Wars.

Bloomberg.com

Provides access to Bloomberg.com content. Free registration is required.

Archives Unbound (Free access)
Gale has turned on access to all 300+ collections covering a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward--from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.

British Library Newspapers: Part I-V, 1800-1950
A series of collections of national and regional newspapers of Britain. The archive includes newspapers originating in England, Scotland, and Ireland.

Digital Scholar Lab
Gale's Digital Scholar Lab is a cloud-based research tool "that enables students and researchers to apply natural-language processing tools and raw text data (OCR) from Gale Primary Sources collections in a single research platform." This resource is a tool that can be used for data mining and digital scholarship.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to a collection of 500 U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Online, I & II
Provides access to full text of 100 titles and 1.2 million pages from periodicals published in the UK between 1800 and 1900. It also includes 91 periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. The resource also offers an extensive library of newly captured images.

Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970
Examines the history of public health policy and services from the late 19th century to the end of the 1960s. Content is drawn from the New York Academy of Medicine on topics including national health care, public health services, and other topics, as well as from the National Archive Records Administration featuring a range of collections reflecting federal, state, and city public health efforts as well as campaigns and initiatives from public health advocates to insurance providers and policymakers. Additionally, we have a trial to Docuseek2 through May 18.

Docuseek2
Provides streaming access to documentary and social issues films and videos.

These can all be found on our Trials page.

Finding eBooks via Library Online Catalog

In Location, select Online.