Research Guides: Education (PK-12): Finding Articles

Research Databases

The databases grouped and listed below are recommended for research on Education (PK-12) topics. Keep in mind, no single database includes all resources. Depending on your topic, you may need to use multiple databases to locate the information you need.

If you are accessing databases from off-campus you will be required to authenticate with your NetID and password.
When the full text of an article is not linked directly from the database (PDF or HTML link) click on the "Find Text @ TAMU" button for links to the full text.
Access to additional databases can be found by selecting the Databases button on the library homepage.
For help with identifying databases, schedule a research consultation with a librarian for one-on-one assistance.

Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers all levels of education "from early childhood to higher education” as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains conference proceedings, technical reports and research analyses, dissertations, teaching guides, instructional materials, books, and government documents.
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all areas of education from preschool to higher education and is searchable by educational level and age group. Topics include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Covers current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21 plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of specialized education journals (including peer-reviewed titles) designed for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. Coverage dates back to 1965.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including sociology of education.