Research Guides: Student Resources: Research Help

Research Help

Searching Databases

Include about section here

Humanities & Social Sciences

America: History and Life with Full Text

This resource provides concrete literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Contains full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)

Humanities Full Text is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Full-text coverage begins in January 1995.

PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)

PsycINFO covers psychology and related disciplines including social work, education, medicine, and linguistics. Indexes articles, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations.

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)

Social Sciences Full Text covers social sciences including psychology, sociology, education, community health, policy sciences, minority studies, economics, social work, criminology, environmental studies, and more. Full text from 1994-present, Indexing from 1983-present.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and more. Full text to 470 journals. Included in Academic Search Complete.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full-text of 28 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 10,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies).

SocINDEX with Full Text

SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

SocINDEX with Full Text provides the same comprehensive indexing and abstracts as SocINDEX, as well as full text for "core" journals dating as far back as 1895, and full text coverage of "priority" journals.

This database also includes full text for books and monographs, and full text for conference papers.

Science Databases

MEDLINE Complete

MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Many of the most-used medical journals are available with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.

Science Full Text Select

Offers a broad range of subject coverage, making it easy to keep pace with scientific and technical developments. Subjects covered in this database include acoustics, botany, earth science, robotics and much, much more.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

Indexing and full text of major journals in the life, physical, and social sciences, technology, and engineering; full text of online reference books and >2000 Elsevier-published journals.

Education Databases

Education Full Text (EBSCO)

Education Full Text contains access to articles from over 600 international, English language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks from 1982 to the present. It covers a wide range of topics, including all levels of education from Preschool to Adult, all subject areas taught in school, Educational Technology, School Administration, and Teacher Education.

ERIC (EBSCO)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles from 1966 to the present. In addition to journal articles from leading education journals, ERIC also contains conference proceedings, technical reports and research analyses, dissertations, teaching guides, instructional materials, books, and government documents.

Education Source

Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 36 journals published by Sage and participating societies, encompassing over 45,000 articles. Subject areas include, but are not limited to, Assessment, Curriculum, Educational Administration, International Education, Multicultural Education, Teaching Methods, and Early Childhood through Higher Education.

Hot Topics Databases

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)

The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Source Plus

Provides more than 1,400 full-text newspapers, providing more than 55 million full-text articles.

Access World News Collection (NewsBank)

The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded.

How to Find Books in the "Stacks" (i.e. book shelves)

Using the libraries built in search gives you a wide variety of options for searching content. There are three types of searches:

Basic
Advanced
New books

Each search area allows for keywords, content limits, and more. You can begin your search by visiting the Libraries search website.

Search Tips

Use the library catalog to find books, journals, magazines and more. Do *not* use the library catalog to search for individual articles.

You may search by:

keyword e.g. virginia woolf criticism
title e.g. "A library of literary criticism: modern British literature"
author keyword e.g. Virginia Woolf (for books by Virginia Woolf)
subject headings keyword e.g. Virginia Woolf (for books about Virginia Woolf)

Helpful Hints:

Limit Your Search to "Location: Evans Library or Annex."
Pay close attention to the "Status" and "Location" of the book.
In order to locate the book on the shelves, write down the call number and title of the book.

Searching the Library Catalog - Video Tutorials

Search Tips

Developing a Research Topic and Generating Search Terms Worksheets

Searching & Navigating Library Databases

Follow a Yavapai College student as he uses the many features of a library database to save time and find better results for his research topic.

What's a Library Database? Video

Searching Databases Video

Generating Keywords

Searching & Navigating Library Databases

Follow a Yavapai College student as he uses the many features of a library database to save time and find better results for his research topic.

What's a Library Database? Video

Searching Databases Video

Last Updated: Jun 28, 2024 11:24 AM
URL: https://tamu.libguides.com/Student
Print Page

School Visitors

School Visitors

Student Resources

Research Help

Searching Databases

General Reference Sources

Interdisciplinary Databases

Humanities & Social Sciences

Science Databases

Education Databases

Hot Topics Databases

Newspaper Articles

Search Tips

You may search by:

Helpful Hints:

Searching the Library Catalog - Video Tutorials

Basic Keyword Searches

Subject Headings Search

Search Tips

Developing a Research Topic and Generating Search Terms Worksheets

Searching & Navigating Library Databases

What's a Library Database? Video

Searching Databases Video

Generating Keywords

Searching & Navigating Library Databases

What's a Library Database? Video

Searching Databases Video