Research Guides: Architecture: U.S. Government Information

U.S. Government Information

Catalogs

Libraries Catalog
Locate Federal Documents available at the Evans Library.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO)
1976 to current. The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the finding tool for federal publications and provides links to those available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publication
(TAMU only) 1895-1976 - Use this database to search for documents issued prior to 1976 - then write down the SuDoc number and search for the document in the print collection on the 5th floor of Evans Annex, or the second floor of Evans in the microfiche area.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Some documents have been digitized, search this website to see if your document is available online.

Search Engines

FDsys
FDsys is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government including the Congressional Record, Bills, Public Laws, the Federal Budget, regulations and more.
USA.gov
Official information and services from the U.S. government.

Databases

ProQuest Congressional
Full-text of detailed information about Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, hearings, congressional papers, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Get full text PDFs of all congressional hearings, the Serial Set, CRS Reports, the Statutes at Large and the Congressional Record up to 1997.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides full text of Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, federal case law, legal information, and more.
ProQuest Government Periodicals
Full text of government journals.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Access to government and organizational statistics.
Digital National Security Archive (TAMU Only)
The database includes the most important declassified documents regarding U.S. policy.
Military & Government Collection (TAMU Only)
Provides access to current news and journals pertaining to all branches of the military.
Campus Research (TAMU Only)
Includes United States Code Annotated, federal cases, the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register.
CQ Electronic Library (TAMU Only)
The CQ Electronic Library is a resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the Encyclopedia of American Government, Supreme Court Collection, Voting and Elections Collection, Public Affairs and Congress Collections.
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals Library (TAMU Only)
Access to federal agency legal publications.
GPO MetaLib
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

U.S Serial Set

Search for historic primary resources of Reports and Documents of the U.S. House and Senate. Includes the American State Papers. 1789-to current.

ProQuest (TAMU Only)
Readex (TAMU Only)
Version up to 1980
GPO Access
1995-current

Federal Agency Sites

100 Core Documents

Milestone Documents 1776-1965

Other Sites

C-Span
Provides public access to the political process.

Federal Depository

As a federal depository library, Evan's makes government documents available for the free use for faculty, staff, students, as well as the general public. For assistance please contact the Evan's Reference Desk, or chat with us.