Research Guides: Chemistry: Home

Howdy

Welcome to the Chemistry research guide. This guide brings together a number of resources for chemical engineering. We have access to much more! If you need help, our Help webpage has FAQs and ways to get in touch with us via chat, email, text, and phone. Feel free to schedule a research consultation for additional assistance.

Selected Resources

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Merck Index
Contains brief entries on the synthesis, use, biological activity, and property data on over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Includes the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and several "dictionaries" that are more like handbooks.
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database for chemistry, biochemistry, materials science, and related subjects. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, and some technical reports. Coverage 1907-present.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Contains the Beilstein (organic) and Gmelin (inorganic) handbooks, which provide extensive amount of physical property data and synthesis information. Also includes chemical patents. Can be searched by CAS, formula, structure, reaction, as well as by various other parameters.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary citation database indexes over 7,000 science journals, as well as conference proceedings. Coverage 1900-present.