Research Guides: Library Resources for Medical Clerkships and Clinical Electives: Clerkships/Specialty Information

ThIs guide:

Emphasizes resources and tools that support evidence-based medicine
Supports clerkship students and fellows apply research findings to clinical decision-making

Case Studies

More specific case studies listed under individual rotation tabs and under the Electives tab.

Access Medicine Clerkship Topics
Includes study materials, review questions, and case files for twelve medical specialties.
Clinical Practice & Board Review questions are available at https://accessmedicine-mhmedical-com.srv-proxy2.library.tamu.edu/qa.aspx?groupid=962&categoryid=45662
Case Files - Entire collection
List of all Access medical resources listed at bottom of page.
Connect to Case Files and Review Questions (Free individual registration required)
Alternate Title: Access Medicine Case Files Collection
COM Faculty: For Case Files: Teaching Cases, contact Sheila Green (sgreen@tamu.edu)
Features a complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases. An interactive format helps students learn through exposure to realistic patient cases.
Clinical Key Procedures
In Clinical Key, scroll down to box titled "Procedure Videos"
A procedure reference tool that offers access to complete details on how to prepare for, perform, and follow up on the most common procedures. Many are demonstrated with videos.
To set up a Procedures Consult group to create and manage assignments, please contact the Medical Sciences Library (reference@medlib.tamu.edu or 979-845-7428).

DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases, 1e, 2023
First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, 4e, 2019
Detailed case studies, topic reviews, and proven test-taking strategies
Kumar & Clark's Cases in Clinical Medicine, 4e, 2021
Clinical Key books - opening in Firefox - Right click on chapter title and select "Open link in new tab" OR Open with Chrome

LWW Health Library Clerkship Cases
Collection of cases from approximately 40 online books aimed at reviewing content for the clerkships and clinical rotations. Series include the Board Review Series (BRS), Recall, Blueprints, Step-Up, and NMS, in specialty areas such as family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery, and emergency medicine.

Remediation Case Studies : helping struggling medical learners, 1e, 2021
Print copy available in MSL@College Station
W 18 G934rc 2021

StatPearls

Review Resources and Question Banks

Access Medicine Clerkship Topics
Includes study materials and review questions

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Full text access to medical texts and reference books, drug information, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, and an exam preparation resource (USMLEasy). Alternate titles: Access Medicine Published by: McGraw-Hill Companies
AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window Provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and pediatric emergencies, to poisoning and trauma – specifically designed for optimized viewing on any device. Alternate titles: Access Emergency Medicine Published by: McGraw-Hill Companies
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window AccessPediatrics is a continuously updated, integrated online resource, organized around a set of core topics and developed by an advisory board of renowned pediatricians, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Alternate titles: McGraw-Hill's AccessPediatrics; Access Pediatrics Published by: McGraw-Hill Companies

AccessNeurology AccessNeurology can help students excel in their clerkship; assist residents in strengthening their skills with instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading neurology textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning; enable program directors to create, track and report their students progress through a custom curriculum that eases workflow and allow practicing neurologists to reinforce their medical knowledge for recertification. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content optimized for viewing on any device.
AccessObGyn The ObGyn Collection provides fully searchable and complete content of updated landmark obstetrics and gynecology references, including the latest edition of the world's #1 obstetrics text, Williams Obstetrics. The ObGyn collection also features Clinical Pearls, presentations from both Williams Obstetrics and Williams Gynecology for study and group viewing, advanced chapters of forthcoming editions of Williams Obstetrics and Williams Gynecology, leading subspecialty references in urogynecology, gynecologic oncology, and fetal medicine, including Fetology, and a multimedia library of more than 100 sonography videos and cases, plus a growing list of Williams animations.
AccessPediatrics AccessPediatrics is a continuously updated, integrated online resource, organized around a set of core topics and developed by an advisory board of renowned pediatricians, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine.

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window An online pharmacy educational curricular resource which allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, review of textbooks, or searching across leading pharmacy online references. Also includes case studies, care plans, and exam preparation and review. Alternate titles: Access Pharmacy Published by: McGraw-Hill Companies
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window An integrated resource organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) Core Curriculum and aimed at medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons. AccessSurgery features selection by ACGME core curriculum topics, browsing by organ system, videos, and an authoritative collection of online textbooks. In addition, the Clerkship Corner includes case studies and questions and answers to prepare for surgical rotations. Alternate titles: Access Surgery Published by: McGraw-Hill Companies
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window The Books@Ovid database includes over 390 full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics. Alternate titles: Books at Ovid Published by: Ovid Technologies, Inc.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials. Alternate titles: Clinical Key Published by: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division
First Aid Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of peer-reviewed medical review study guides that help students earn top marks on the clerkships, and specialty board exams. Available on the McGraw-Hill eBook Library. Alternate titles: MH First Aid Ebook Collection; McGraw-Hill First Aid Ebook Collection; First Aid Test Prep; First Aid Study Guides Published by: McGraw-Hill Companies

First Aid for the USMLE Step 1, 34e, 2024

StatPearls This link opens in a new window
This online question bank covers nursing, pharmacy, physician assistant, EMS-EMT Basic, family medicine, radiology technology and USMLE Step 1, Step 2 and Step 3 prep.
** Tip: Click the Question Banks dropdown on the left, then "Quiz Builder" to see a list of question banks.

uCentral
Must register for free account.

Journal Literature

PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's interface to MEDLINE, NLM's bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, healthcare administration, and the pre-clinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional biomedical journals not indexed by MEDLINE.
Published by: National Center for Biotechnology Information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
Alternate titles: Web of Knowledge ; WOS; Institute for Scientific information citation databases

Multimedia

Case Files® Collection Podcasts
Includes Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, and Surgery

Procedures Videos
A procedure reference tool that offers access to complete details on how to prepare for, perform and follow up on the most common procedures. Many are demonstrated with videos.
To set up a Procedures Consult group to create and manage assignments, please contact the Medical Sciences Library (reference@medlib.tamu.edu or 979-845-7428).
MedEd Videos
Hundreds of free videos to help you crush the boards and wards.

Guidelines by Specialty

Clinical Key Guidelines, Procedures, Clinical Overviews

Medical Sciences Library Guides and Databases

Medicine Library Guides (Libguides) and Databases

Opening Problematic Ebooks

McGraw-Hill - Open ebooks (First Aid Series included) using small "Open eBook" notation under title.

ClinicalKey - If you are using the Firefox browser, right click on chapter title and select "Open link in new tab" OR open with Chrome