Engineering-Medicine (EnMed) : Library Resources

Collection of CRC chemical databases, including the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Polymers Property Database, and the Combined Chemical Dictionary.

For over 45 years, the Center for Information and Numerical Data Analysis and Synthesis (CINDAS) at Purdue University managed a comprehensive and systematic research program on the properties and behavior of materials. For this work CINDAS achieved a worldwide reputation among engineers and scientists. The program involved both basic and applied research, using both experimental techniques and literature searches. This program included the identification and collection of available and relevant worldwide scientific and technical literature; the compilation, critical evaluation, correlation, and synthesis of both existing and new experimental data to produce reliable reference data (recommended values); and the generation of estimated values to fill data gaps and voids.

Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.

This database provides access to the full text of more than 700 online handbooks from CRC Press in all fields of engineering.

IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology, formerly IEE) publications.

Indexing of the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering with more than 8 million records taken from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage from 1896 to the present, and records are updated weekly. Inspec is produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers (now the Institution of Engineering and Technology).

Knovel has over 800 essential science and engineering reference books and databases from the world's leading scientific publishers and professional societies in 18 industrially important subject areas.

SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, an evaluated collection of property data for the physical sciences and engineering. The database contains over 250,000 substances & material systems, 3,000 properties, and 1,200,000 literature citations. It also includes: corrosion data, crystal structures, gas absorption, phase diagrams, polymer thermodynamic, and thermophysical data collections.

The CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end us, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.

The NTIS National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) guarantees libraries and technical information professionals easy access and perpetual availability to the full text of documents from the National Technical Information Service’s comprehensive collection of federally-funded technical reports.

The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.

A collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Comprehensive index for chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, and related subjects, covering the world's literature back to the 1800s. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. It also covers patents, chemical catalogs, regulated chemicals, spectra, and experimental and calculated properties.

SciTech Connect contains scientific and technical research results (citations and some full-text) in disciplines of chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.

SYNTHESIS is an innovative information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. It combines authoritative content with advanced digital delivery to create a product that is substantially more useful than traditional print and digital publications.

Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.