Research Guides: Law: Home

Librarian

Daniel Xiao

Email Me

Case Law

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Full text of federal and state court cases. Searchable by citation, case name, or full text. Also contains law reviews, U.S. Code Annotated, Constitution, American Law Reports
American Jurisprudence 2d, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text of federal and state court cases. Searchable by citation, case name, or full text. Also contains law reviews, and some international legislation materials.

Other Legal Sources

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Best resource for Law Reviews, historical legal information, federal administrative decisions, international law and treaties.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window ProQuest Congressional offers a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present including bills, public laws (Statutes at Large), the Congressional Record, Congressional hearings, documents, reports, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, the Serial Set, and information on Members of Congress and their floor votes. Alternate titles: LexisNexis Congressional ; CIS Congressional universe; CRS Published by: ProQuest
LLMC Digital Law Library This link opens in a new window Provides online access to preserved legal titles and government documents. Published by: Law Library Microform Consortium
CQ Supreme Court Collection This link opens in a new window Search summaries and analysis of over 4000 decisions, with links to full-text of cases. Research justices' voting records and opinion alignments. Includes biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution. Published by: CQ Press
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source material such as transcripts and briefs.

PACER (not a TAMU database - fee based database)
Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts.
Library of Congress Legal Reports
The Law Library of Congress produces reports primarily for members of Congress. The legal research reports listed below by topic provide commentary and recommended resources on issues and events. These reports are provided for reference purposes only and do not constitute legal advice.

Legal Citations

Legal citations are complex, use abbreviations, and vary between federal and state laws, so always consult your assigned style manual or The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (KF245 U55 Evans Reference 1st floor) to learn how to cite a specific legal source. When in doubt, verify with your professor you are citing the way they want you to.

Bluebook Citations Guide
How to Cite
Cornell University Law School's guide

Municipal Laws and Ordinances

Municipal Laws and Ordinances