Research Guides: Obstetrics & Gynecology in Clerkship: Clinical Practice

Clinical Practice

Point-of-care applications: Designed for fast-paced environments, enabling clinicians to access concise, evidence-based resources and make informed, time-sensitive decisions efficiently.

Our Most Popular Point-of-care Applications:

Please View All of Our Point-of-care Apps.

Systematic Reviews: Crucial for evidence-based practice as they provide rigorously synthesized, high-quality research to inform clinical decisions efficiently and reliably.

Most Popular Databases for Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Library
Published by Wiley, the Cochrane Library supports evidence-based healthcare through systematic reviews and meta-analyses. It includes:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
A comprehensive evidence-based practice database for healthcare professionals, covering various medical, nursing, and health science specialties. It includes:
- Evidence Summaries
- Evidence-Based Recommended Practices
- Best Practice Information Sheets
- Systematic Reviews
- Consumer Information Sheets
- Systematic Review Protocols
- Technical Reports
Alternate titles: Joanna Briggs, JBI, Evidence-Based Practice (EBP). Published by Ovid Technologies, Inc.

Ob/Gyn Procedural Support: Resources to support learning and performing procedures related to Obstetrics and Gynecology, including 3D anatomy models, detailed guides on suturing and knot-tying, video tutorials, and authoritative textbooks.

Multimedia

Access Medicine Multimedia Ob/Gyn Resources
- Diagnostic and Imaging Studies: Fetal Ultrasonography
Anatomy.tv
- A suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Intuitive controls to zoom, rotate, and peel away layers.
Clinical Key 
- Common Ob/Gyn Procedure Videos

eBooks & Manuals

Atlas of Suturing Techniques: approaches to surgical wound, laceration, and cosmetic repair, 2e, 2022
- Comprehensive guide to surgical wound, laceration, and cosmetic repair techniques.
Ethicon Knot Tying Manual
- Essential manual for mastering surgical knot tying.

Pharmaceutical Toolkit: Comprehensive, up-to-date drug data, including interactions, dosage guidance, tablet identification, and surgical case applications to support safe and effective pharmacological decisions in clinical settings.

Databases

AccessPharmacy
An online pharmacy educational curricular resource which allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, review of textbooks, or searching across leading pharmacy online references. Also includes case studies, care plans, and exam preparation and review.
Alternate titles: Access Pharmacy
Published by: McGraw-Hill Companies
Clinical Pharmacology
Provides comprehensive, current drug information.
Published by: Gold Standard
DynaMed
A medical information database with 1,800 clinical topic summaries. Designed for use at the point of care, providing best available evidence and updated daily.
Alternate titles: Dynamic medical information system
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Micromedex Solutions
Drug database providing evidence-based clinical information at the point of care for medication, toxicology, and disease management. Information and instructions for mobile access are available once successfully connected to the Micromedex database.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp Online)
Updated daily. Provides full text access to point-of-care information from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical applications. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
Alternate titles: LexiComp Academic Solution; Lexi-Comp Online; Lexi-Comp Academic Solution; Lexi-Comp ; Lexi Comp
Published by: Lexi-Comp

Safety Education and Risk Management: Adhering to national patient safety standards is essential for minimizing risk and improving patient outcomes, while compliance with HIPAA ensures the protection of sensitive health information and maintains patient confidentiality.

Joint Commission National Patient Safety Goals

Detailed information on patient safety standards, including improving communication, correct patient identification, and surgical safety practices.

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 SB(HIPAA)

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) of 1996 establishes federal standards protecting sensitive health information from disclosure without patient's consent. The US Department of Health and Human Services issued the HIPAA Privacy Rule to implement HIPAA requirements. The HIPAA Security Rule protects specific information cover the Privacy Rule.

Clinical Practice Guidelines: According to the Institute of Medicine (IOM), "Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options."

Clinical Practice Guidelines

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)
ACOG develops evidence-based clinical guidelines addressing key topics in obstetrics and gynecology, including maternal care, gynecologic procedures, contraception, and reproductive health.
ACOG Clinical Practice Guidelines