Research Guides: PHAR 778 Drug Literature Evaluation and Patient Drug Education (Spring 2025): Drug Information

Drug Information

What is a drug compendium?

A drug compendium is a comprehensive reference guide that provides detailed information about medications, including:

Adverse reactions
Contraindications
Dosages
Drug identification

Drug interactions
Drug uses (label and off-label)
Pharmacology
Side Effects

Major Drug Compendia

The resources listed below are major drug compendia available through the Medical Sciences Library.

Clinical Pharmacology
Comprehensive drug reference database (powered by Clinical Key) that provides information on U.S. prescription drugs, herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs. Can be accessed via the Clinical Key app mobile phones and tablets.
>> Video training and instructional guides for finding dosages, IV compatibility data, drug monographs, manufacturer information and more are available on the Clinical Pharmacology landing page underneath the search bar.
Micromedex Solutions
Drug database providing evidence-based clinical information at the point of care for medication, toxicology, and disease management. Information and instructions for mobile access are available once successfully connected to the Micromedex database.
>> Visit the Micromedex Training Center to learn more about the features of Micromedex.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp Online)
UpToDate® Lexidrug™ is a collection of drug information resources and clinical tools that provides users with clinical drug information. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
>>Visit the Lexidrug User Academy to access training videos.

Specialty drug information resources provide comprehensive information specific to certain diseases, conditions, or populations.

Infectious Disease

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide
An online resource on bacteria and bacterial infections, complications, treatments and other related subjects.
Sanford Guide
Includes information on infectious diseases and clinical conditions, anti-infective drug information, and therapeutic adjuncts.

Pregnancy & Lactation

Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation : A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk, 12e, 2022
Provides monographs for 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, including information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant. Each monograph includes:
-Generic US name (trade names in index)
-Risk factors
-Pharmacologic class
-Pregnancy and breastfeeding recommendations
-Pregnancy, fetal risk, and breastfeeding summaries
-Updated references
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed®)
"Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency." Produced by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

The following databases include core pharmacy reference books as well as textbooks for background information in the basic sciences: biochemistry, histology, microbiology, pathology, and physiology.

AccessPharmacy
Includes core pharmacology and medical reference texts that can be browsed by organ system and subject or searched using keywords. Also includes case studies, care plans, and exam preparation and review.
>>Visit the AccessPharmacy LibGuide for training videos and instructional guides.
ClinicalKey
Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
Alternate titles: Clinical Key
Published by: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division
uCentral
Includes core clinical handbooks such as 5-Minute Clinical Consult, Harriet Lane Handbook, Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, and The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics.

PHAR 778 Drug Literature Evaluation and Patient Drug Education (Spring 2025)

Contact Us!

Your Librarians

Drug Information

What is a drug compendium?

Major Drug Compendia

Infectious Disease

Pregnancy & Lactation