Research Guides: PHLT 310 Public Health Writing (Summer 2025): Policy Brief Assignment

Research Tools

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's interface to MEDLINE, NLM's bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, healthcare administration, and the pre-clinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional biomedical journals not indexed by MEDLINE.
Published by: National Center for Biotechnology Information
PubMed Central
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Alternate titles: PMC
Published by: National Library of Medicine
Web of Science
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
Alternate titles: Web of Knowledge ; WOS; Institute for Scientific information citation databases
MEDLINE (Ovid)
The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Published by: Ovid Technologies, Inc.
MedlinePlus
Includes extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Published by: National Library of Medicine
APA PsycInfo
More than 3.5 million records spanning the 1880s to the present; covering roughly 2,500 journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences, including over 200 neuroscience titles. 99% of the journals are peer reviewed. Includes citations and abstracts to articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, and selected dissertations.
Alternate titles: Psyc Info; PsychINFO
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
GIDEON
Infectious disease knowledge management tool for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
Alternate titles: Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Global Health
**Note: This resource is limited to 4 simultaneous users.**

Global Health (1910-present) provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.

The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
* communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS)
* tropical diseases, i.e, diseases in the tropics (including field and experimental studies)
* parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology
* human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects)
* community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology)
* medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)

The records may also appear in some 44 printed abstract journals published by CABI. Over 16,000 serial sources from more than 130 countries are scanned regularly for inclusion in the Global Health database, to produce approximately 25,000 new entries per year. Nearly all records have informative English abstracts prepared by scientists and linguists.
Alternate titles: CAGH
Published by: Ovid Technologies, Inc.

Health Policy Reference Center
Covers all aspects of health policy and related issues, offering indexing from more than 420 full-text publications, including journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
PolicyArchive
Comprehensive, searchable, open access, online archive of public policy research. Developed as partnership of the Center for Governmental Studies, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)Library and Communication Consortium Media Center in Washington, D.C.
Alternate titles: CGS Policy archive
Published by: Center for Governmental Studies
PolicyFile
PolicyFile is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Alternate titles: Policy File ;
Published by: ProQuest
CQ Congress Collection
Search public policy legislation and analysis, biographical data on members of Congress since the 79th Congress (1945), their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. Includes statistical data of the legislative branch.
Alternate titles: Congressional Quarterly Congress collection
Published by: CQ Press
CQ Electronic Library
Created and hosted by Congressional Quarterly Press, the CQ Electronic Library (CQEL) is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. A wealth of CQ Press resources and years of journalistic and editorial expertise are combined in CQEL (pronounced SEE-quell). It also offers researchersÃ¹whether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizens a range of tools for discovering, understanding, and making use of its authoritative content.
Alternate titles: Congressional Quarterly electronic library
Published by: CQ Press
CQ Public Affairs Collection
Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings like Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation the CQ Public Affairs Collection features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
Alternate titles: Congressional Quarterly PAC
Published by: CQ Press
CRS Reports
CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives. By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation
Published by: Library of Congress
Public Affairs Index
A bibliographic database, Public Affairs Index, covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict.
Alternate titles: PAI
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Stat+
First time users will need to register. Enter your valid @tamu.edu email address, along with any password of your choosing
Click "continue"

STAT+ is STAT's premium subscription service for in-depth biotech, pharma, policy, and life science coverage and analysis. Our award-winning team covers news on Wall Street, policy developments in Washington, early science breakthroughs and clinical trial results, and health care disruption in Silicon Valley and beyond.
Congress.gov
Use Congress.gov to search for Congressional information such as Bills, Congressional calendars, committee information, the "Congressional Record", Public Laws, roll call votes, and more. Most coverage goes back to the 101st (1989) through current Congress.
Alternate titles: Thomas
Published by: Library of Congress

Public Policy Writing That Matters by David Chrisinger; Katherine Baicker (Foreword by)
Call Number: JF1525.C59 C35 2022
ISBN: 9781421442327
Publication Date: 2022-02-01
A thoroughly updated and expanded guide to honing your public policy writing skills--and making a significant impact on the world.
The CQ Press Writing Guide for Public Policy by Andrew Pennock (Contribution by); Andrew S. Pennock
ISBN: 9781071858288
Publication Date: 2023-03-14
The CQ Press Writing Guide for Public Policy, Second Edition, is loaded with rich real-world examples that help students master the process of translating insightful policy analysis into clear policy recommendations.
Writing Public Policy by Catherine F. Smith
Call Number: JF1525.C59 S64 2023
ISBN: 9780197643495
Publication Date: 2022-08-09
Writing Public Policy is a practical, concise guide to writing and communicating in public policy processes.
Illuminating Policy for Health by Patrick Harris
ISBN: 9783031131981
Publication Date: 2022-09-27
This book unpacks policy and politics for health, equity, and wellbeing.
The Little Guide to Writing for Impact by Katherine Barrett; Richard. Greene; Donald F. Kettl
ISBN: 9781538181270
Publication Date: 2024-03-12
In this fresh and lively book, Barrett, Greene, and Kettl combine more than a century of experience in writing to present a series of guidelines that will enable readers to successfully frame a policy argument; pitch it to editors; organize the work so that the ideas have real impact; support it with data and stories; find the right publisher; and follow up after publication to ensure that the argument has enduring impact.
Public Health Policy by Dhrubajyoti Bhattacharya
ISBN: 9781118164358
Publication Date: 2013-10-21
Public Health Policy: Issues, Theories, and Advocacy offers students an engaging and innovative introduction to public health policy: its purpose, how it is originated, and how it is implemented.