This database indexes sources on literature, linguistics and drama from 1963 to present. Also available in print back to 1920. While it indexes secondary literature, it may lead to other pertinent information on the topic. PB1 .M46 from 1920 to 1962; from 1963 to present, on the web.
An electronic index of critical articles and book reviews on language and literature in English back to 1892. The print index of article citations on English language and literature covers published articles from 1920 to present. PB1 .A55
A collection of databases of article citations, on a variety of subjects from science to business to the social sciences. The web versions of Humanities Index, Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature and Essay and General Literature Index will provide citations to literary criticism articles and book chapters. Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature, AI3 .R48, continues Poole’s Index, AI3 .P7, covering periodical literature from 1800 to present. Essay and General Literature Index includes citations to articles and book chapters from 1900 to present, AI3 .E752. Humanities Index will provide citations to criticism articles in literature, including poetry, short fiction, drama and novels. The print indexes back to 1972. AI3 .H84
A collection of selected full text periodicals and scholarly journals, U.S. and international newspapers, reference books and detailed pamphlets from a variety of disciplines.
An online database indexing resources in all areas. It includes citations of critical articles on popular culture, film and television. The online versions go back to 1982 while the paper version of Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Z5931 .A78 goes back to 1975, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Z7163 .S6 extends back to 1956.
Full text access to all dissertations published by participating institutions from 1997 onward – over 450,000 in all. Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses prior to 1997.
Provides citations and excerpts from reviews in approximately 90 popular journals from 1983 to present in the electronic version. The paper version has excerpts from complete reviews for fiction and nonfiction many disciplines starting from 1905. Z1219 .C95.
Book Review Index
Provides citations to book reviews published in English-language periodicals. Entries are arranged alphabetically by name of author of book reviewed, with a separate Title Index at the end of each annual volume includes citations of book reviews in all subjects from scholarly and popular periodicals, back to 1965. It indexes more periodicals than Book Review Digest but does not include excerpts. Z1035 .A1 B59
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974 indexes reviews in all subjects in the humanities, by title and author, from 1802 to 1974. Cites 500,000+ book reviews gathered from more than 150 humanities journals. "Most of these reviews have never been included in any retrospective multi-title book review index." Includes book reviews, "book notes," and "book briefs." Excludes "review articles" in which a number of subject-related books are reviewed simultaneously (unless the book titles are listed in the article). Z6265 .C65 1982
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals lists reviews found in 459 scholarly journals in the fields of history, political science, and sociology, citing more than a million book reviews gathered from scholarly journals published between 1886 and 1974. "Most of these reviews have never been included in any retrospective multi-title book review index." Includes book reviews, "book notes," and "book briefs." Z1035 .A1 C64
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access for readers of all ages and skill levels. Beginning-level users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics, and more.
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access for readers of all ages and skill levels. Beginning-level users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more. It includes access to many of the Gale Literature Criticism titles, including:
Children's Literature Review (CLR);Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC); Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC): Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC): Something About the Author (SATA); Shakespearean Criticism; Literature Criticism from 1400–1800; Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism (SSC); Drama Criticism; Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB).
The Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors.
Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
The Literary Encyclopedia is an expanding global literary reference work written by over 1500 specialists from universities around the world, and currently provides over 3900 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics. We publish 6-800 new profiles each year. We also list nearly 19,000 works by date, country and genre, and provide advanced software tools. The Literary Encyclopedia is built on historical principles, which means that all our data can be arrayed by date, country, genre, and so on, so that readers can explore writing in its historical context.
The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.
Gain access to original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Many authors in the Scribner Writers Series are seen from multiple perspectives through two, three or sometimes four essays. Students can go directly to an entry on a specific author, combine search criteria for a much more complex search, or explore thematic and chronological topics to make connections among writers.
Contains articles, book reviews, and select dissertations, from over 2000 scholarly and professional journals in History since 1964. Topics range from culture to politics to pre-historical sites. Covers United States and Canadian historical topics from pre-history to the present.
Contains articles and book announcements from over 2000 scholarly and professional journals in History. Contains articles published since 1964 on a wide variety of international topics since 1450.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) indexes scholarly literature as well as some government reports on national and international topics affecting public policy (including: terrorism, economic policy, immigration, politics, diplomacy, tariff and trade issues, etc.). The electronic access goes back to 1980s (a full retrospective is in the works), but the Library has this index in print since 1915 in the Reference Department.
Scholarly literature on Medieval topics. This resource includes access to Brepol's International Medieval Bibliography - Online (IMB), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and International Directory of Medievalists. A partial print version of the IMB is available in the Reference Department.
An electronic full-text archive of the major journals in History as well as other social, behavioral, and physical sciences. While JSTOR has complete retrospective collections of journals, the most current (three to five years, depending on title) will not be available.
A collection of electronic journals in the humanities and liberal arts. Unlike JSTOR, which has complete retrospective runs, MUSE holds current journal titles. The older issues of selected MUSE journals are electronically available through JSTOR.
A collaborative effort between some of the largest and most respected scholarly and professional organizations in History to bring their respective journals into the electronic realm. This resource contains current full-text material from titles including: American Historical Review, Journal of American History, William & Mary Quarterly, Western Historical Quarterly, Labour History, et al. Access is provided by the Texas A&M University Libraries.
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
This resource identifies material about Chicanos and provides uniform subject access to this constantly growing body of literature. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Also includes (1992 to the present) the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
The Gender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. GSD includes: several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and web documents professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and other carefully selected and important websites.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world (including the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere). Records include citations in over 3,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
