Common Paper Types

What is a Systematic Review?

A systematic review is a research method that is designed to answer a research question(s) by identifying, coding, appraising, and synthesizing a group of studies investigating the same question(s). This method is utilized in disciplines such as education, behavioral and social sciences, medicine, public health, and others to answer a variety of questions: effectiveness of an intervention or policy, prevalence, tests/diagnosis, and more.

What assistance can the library provide?

Evidence Review Services

Steps of a Systematic Review (PIECES)

1. P: Plan - Decide on the methods of the systematic review before conducting it.
   • Use Campbell Collaboration (MECCIR) Conduct Standards and Searching for Studies: A Guide to Information Retrieval for Campbell Systematic Reviews (Feb 2017) as guides.
   • Identify search terms, including keywords, synonyms, and subject headings to search selected databases.
   • Perform scoping searches in selected databases (to find background literature that may help you refine your research question and set inclusion/exclusion criteria).
   • Set inclusion/exclusion criteria (such as specific aspects of a population; types of interventions, outcomes, and study designs; and limiters such as publication date range and language.
2. I: Identify - Systematically search for studies using predetermined criteria.
   • Finalize selection of databases to search.
   • Design a search strategy using subject headings, keywords, Boolean operators, and/or proximity operators for each database.
   • Export results from each database into a citation management program such as RefWorks or EndNote.
   • Remove duplicate citations using the citation management program, save remaining citations as an RIS file, then import the RIS file into a Screening program such as Rayyan or Covidence.
   • Document the process using the PRISMA flow diagram.
3. E: Evaluate - Sort all retrieved articles into included or excluded categories; then assess the risk of bias for each included study.
   • First screening (use exclusion criteria to exclude studies): Sort (screen) studies in Rayyan or Covidence - based on article title and abstract - and mark as exclude, include, or undecided. (McGill University Library has a helpful guide: Rayyan for Systematic Reviews. For additional assistance, please contact TAMU librarians  - not the McGill librarians).
   • Second screening (use inclusion criteria to include studies): Load PDFs into Rayyan for studies marked as include and undecided; then mark as include or exclude based on screening of the full text. 
   • Assess quality of included studies. Example quality criteria are available in Standard Quality Assessment Criteria for Evaluating Primary Research Papers from a Variety of Fields.
4. C: Collect/Combine - Create a coding form to capture study characteristics; then synthesize data qualitatively or quantitatively.
   • Use Google Forms or other software to create a coding form.
5. E: Explain - Contextualize synthesis results, noting strengths and weaknesses of the studies.
6. S: Summarize - Report or describe methods and results in a clear and transparent manner.
   • Use Campbell Collaboration (MECCIR) Reporting Standards as a guide.
   • Use the PRISMA Checklist to report methods. For more detailed guidance use the PRISMA Statement and PRISMA Elaboration & Explanation documents.

Standards & Guidelines for Systematic Reviews

• Campbell Collaboration - MECCIR Standards

  Includes documents for conducting and reporting systematic reviews in education and social sciences. Last updated May 2017.

• Campbell Systematic Reviews: Policies and Guidelines

  Version 1.3. Last updated November 2017

• Searching for Studies: A Guide to Information Retrieval for Campbell Systematic Reviews

  Based on chapter 6 of the Cochrane Handbook, provides guidance on the information retrieval process including literature sources, planning and executing searches, and documentation. Last updated Feb 2017.

• What Works Clearinghouse - Procedures & Standards Handbooks

  Produced by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) -- the statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education.

• EPPI Centre guide to conducing systematic reviews in education

  Develops methods for SRs and research synthesis in education and social sciences; based within the department of Social Science, University College London.

• PRISMA Statement

  Includes links to the PRISMA checklist and diagram. An evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Focuses on randomized trials, but can also be used interventions.

• PRESS Checklist

  The PRESS (Peer Review of Electronic Search Strategies) Checklist is a guide for librarians and information specialists in evaluating electronic search strategies.

Software Tools

• Covidence

  Link to sign up using Texas A&M's Covidence account. Sign up using an @tamu.edu email address.

• Rayyan QCRI

  Free web application developed at Qatar Computing Research Institute (Data Analytics) to help authors manage, screen, and collaborate on SRs.

• Practical Meta-Analysis Effect Size Calculator

  From Campbell Collaboration

• MetaLight

  From the EppiCentre. "MetaLight is a software application designed to support the teaching and learning of meta-analysis." Freely available and uses the Silverlight browser plugin.

• Google Forms

  One resource for creating the coding form.

• SR Toolbox

  A catalog of tools that can be used to support the SR process.