Research Guides: Public Health: Health Data/Statistics

Public Health Data

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)
Health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Chronic Disease and Health Promotion Data & Indicators (CDC)
Access a wide range of chronic disease data, risk factor indicators and policy measures.
Epidemiologic Data (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism)
Provides links to statistical summaries of data collected or compiled by NIAAA on alcohol consumption, alcohol-related mortality and morbidity, and other alcohol-related problems and consequences.
Health, United States, 2015 (CDC | NCHS)
Annual report on trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance, and more.
HealthData.gov
Includes clinical care provider quality information, nationwide health service provider directories, databases of the latest medical and scientific knowledge, consumer product data, community health performance information, government spending data and much more.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly (CDC)
Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community.
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS provides a number of resources for quick access to statistics on important public health topics.

Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data
GHO is the World Health Organization’s main health statistics repository. It contains an extensive list of health indicators, multi-dimensional query functionality, and a world map gallery displaying important health themes.

Healthy People 2020
HP 2020 includes statistics, interventions, federal goals on many health issues

Demography is the statistical study of human populations especially with reference to size and density, distribution, and vital statistics [births, deaths, marriages, health, and disease] (Merriam-Webster, 2016).

U.S. Census Quick Facts
Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
National Vital Statistics System
The Nation's official vital statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics.
National Vital Statistics Report
Monthly and cumulative data on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces, and infant deaths for States and the United States are presented with brief analyses of the vital statistics.
Student Demographics (National Center for Education Statistics)
Provides a variety of student demographic data.
United Nations Demographic & Social Statistics
International statistics on population size and structure, fertility, mortality and migration, family formation, housing, violence against women, health and disability, social security and welfare, income and poverty, and public order and safety.

A disease registry is a tool for tracking the clinical care and outcomes of a defined patient population. Most disease registries are used to support care management for groups of patients with one or more chronic diseases, such as diabetes, coronary artery disease, or asthma (AHRQ, 2016).

NIH List of Registries
Provides information about registry efforts at the national level.
Texas Cancer Registry
The Texas Cancer Registry (TCR) is a statewide population-based registry that serves as the foundation for measuring the Texas cancer burden, comprehensive cancer control efforts, health disparities, progress in prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and survivorship, as well as supports a wide variety of cancer-related research.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Provides health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.

Data Sources from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Provides a range of data resources in the form of online, searchable databases. Data are provided on topics such as the use of health care, the costs of care, trends in hospital care, health insurance coverage, out-of-pocket spending, and patient satisfaction.
Health Resources & Services Administration Data Warehouse
The HRSA Data Warehouse (HDW) serves as the enterprise repository for HRSA’s data and makes that data available to the public. The data warehouse integrates this data with external sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau, enabling users to gather relevant and meaningful information about health care programs and the populations they serve. The HDW is used by HRSA, grantees, care providers, the public, and other audiences interested in HRSA’s public health services and information.
National Core Indicators
National Core Indicators (NCI)™ is a voluntary effort by public developmental disabilities agencies to measure and track their own performance.
Health and Medical Care Archive (University of Michigan | Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)
The data collections in HMCA include surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization (AHRQ)
Provides hospital care data, including information on in-patient stays, ambulatory surgery and services visits, and emergency department encounters.
Medical Expenditures Panel Survey (AHRQ)
Data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending. Annual surveys of individuals and families, as well as their health care providers, provide data on health status, the use of medical services, charges, insurance coverage, and satisfaction with care.
State Health Access Data Assistance Center (University of Minnesota | Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)
Provides health insurance coverage, access, and cost estimates from federal population surveys. You can create maps, bar charts, trends, and tables. It's a great way to explore coverage, access to care, and access to and cost of employer-sponsored insurance within states by characteristics (i.e. age, race/ethnicity, and education level). You can also compare across states and look at trends over time.

Hospital Compare Datasets (Medicare.gov)
These data allow you to compare the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals across the country.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care (Hospital Data)
Hospital-specific data from the Dartmouth Atlas project reflect the treatment of Medicare patients with serious chronic illnesses who were in their last two years of life. The data are not restricted to services delivered in acute care hospitals; they include care delivered in outpatient facilities, skilled nursing and long-term care hospitals, and services delivered by home health agencies and hospice.

WISQARS
CDC’s WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources.
Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program provides annual information on the rate and number of work-related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics.
OSHA Data & Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor)
Provides inspection, chemical exposure, establishment specific injury and illness, severe injury, and manufacturing data.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births in nearly every county in America.
County Health Data (University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute)
Explore county rankings data and guides and tools for improving health.
Texas Health Data
Texas Health Data is an interactive public data system that allows you to query DSHS public health datasets for statistical reports and summaries on various public health topics.

Texas Health Data
Texas Health Data is an interactive public data system that allows you to query DSHS public health datasets for statistical reports and summaries on various public health topics.
State Health Facts (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation)
Provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.
Stats of the States (CDC)
Provides individual state data, including birth, cause of death, mortality, marriage, and divorce data.
State Snapshots (AHRQ)
Provide state-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement.