Research Guides: Chemical Engineering: Books and Handbooks

Books and Handbooks

In addition to searching the Libraries Catalog for books, there are 1,000s of online engineering books available through AccessEngineering, ENGnetBASE, Knovel, Safari, and Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science. A listed of selected handbooks are listed below these online engineering book collections.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 400 engineering handbooks published by McGraw-Hill. Also includes 700+ videos showing how to solve real-world engineering problems.
ENGnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Contains over 900 reference and handbooks covering all areas of engineering.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Contains over 800 science and engineering reference books. In addition to eBooks, the Data Search feature retrieves numeric and other tabular data contained in Knovel's interactive graphs, equations, and tables.
Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
Computer programming and "how to" books from O'Reilly, Que, and many more.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Contains 50- to 100-page eBooks on various areas of engineering and computer science.

Selected Books and Handbooks

Plant Design and Economics for Chemical Engineers (Peters)
Engineering Economics and Economic Design for Process Engineers (Brown)
Process Engineering Economics (Couper)
Chemical Engineering Design: Principles, Practice, and Economics of Plant and Process Design (Towler)
Chemical Economics Handbook (SRI)
An older edition (~ 1980s - 1990s) is available in the the Mary Kay O'Connor Process Safety Library (2nd Floor Brown Bldg.)