Research Guides: Chemistry: Writing Resources

Writing Resources

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
Published in 2020, this replaces the ACS Style Guide and provides the latest information on formatting citations, preparing manuscripts, and other issues related to publishing and research.
ACS Style Guide
Only available in print. Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
ACS Style Guide: Chapter 14 - References
Chapter 14 of the ACS Style Guide is freely available as a pdf. This chapter provides information on how to cite references.
CASSI Search Tool
An online version of the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI). Used to decipher and create journal abbreviations according to the ACS style.
CAplus (SciFinder) Core Journal Coverage List
Provides a list of the 1,500 core journals in SciFinder, along with their abbreviations.
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI)
Print Only. CASSI provides the official journal abbreviations for the ACS style. The print was discontinued by CAS in 2010 and replaced by a more limited free version. See CASSI Search Tool.

Most of the books below are only available in print. Additional books on writing can be found are on the 4th Floor (QD11), 4th Floor (LB2369), and 3rd Floor (T11) of Evans Library. You can also search Libraries Catalog for more books on writing.

ACS Style Guide
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (Online)
Manual of Scientific Style: A Guide for Authors, Editors, and Researchers (Online)
Art of Scientific Writing: From Student Reports to Professional Publications in Chemistry and Related Fields
The Chemist's English
Short Guide to Writing About Chemistry
How to Write a Good Scientific Paper
Freely available ebook published by SPIE (formerly the Society of Photographic Instrumentation Engineers)
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper
How to Write a Successful Science Thesis

EndNote
EndNote allows you to manage and build bibliographies. It also takes citations downloaded from databases and converts them into a consistent format that matches almost any bibliographic style you might need. The Cite While You Write feature allows you to effortlessly transfer citations from your EndNote library into a Word document. When you finish your paper, your reference list and bibliography will be done. Students, faculty, and staff can obtain a free copy of EndNote for personal use though https://software.tamu.edu.
Endnote - Step-by-Step Guide to EndNote 20
PowerPoint presentation for EndNote 20
RefWorks
Web-based citation management software similar to EndNote discussed above. You can register for an account at the link above.

ACS Author University
ACS Author University provides videos and articles from our editor community on tips for scientific writing, peer review, copyright, ethics, and much more.