PERF 101: Intro to Performance Studies (Spring 2025)

This resource provides concrete literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Contains full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Multidisciplinary archive of digitized scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and general and biological sciences but continues to grow.
Published by: JSTOR

LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 140 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, etc.

The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Social Sciences Full Text covers social sciences including psychology, sociology, education, community health, policy sciences, minority studies, economics, social work, criminology, environmental studies, and more. Full text from 1994-present, Indexing from 1983-present.
Alternate titles: Social science fulltext
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Including bibliographic records covering essential areas related to the study of cities and regions, this database explores such topics as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

America's Historical Newspapers includes Early American Newspapers and features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images.
Alternate titles: Americas Historical Newspapers ; American Historical Newspapers
Published by: Readex

Search over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. View digitized images of the pages from famous titles such as Vanity Fair, McClure's, and Ladies Home Journal.
Alternate titles: APS
Published by: ProQuest

Black Studies Center brings together scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.
Alternate titles: BSC
Published by: ProQuest

Black Thought and Culture contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Alternate titles: BLTC
Published by: Alexander Street Press

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress. Here you can find roll call votes and more.
Published by: ProQuest

Everyday Life and Women in American covers American social, cultural, and popular history with emphasis on women. Includes fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of primary source documents including monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides.
Published by: Adam Matthew Digital

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
Published by: Alexander Street Press

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.

The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Alternate titles: NAWLD
Published by: Alexander Street Press

ProQuest Congressional offers a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present including bills, public laws (Statutes at Large), the Congressional Record, Congressional hearings, documents, reports, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, the Serial Set, and information on Members of Congress and their floor votes.
Alternate titles: LexisNexis Congressional ; CIS Congressional universe; CRS
Published by: ProQuest

The Public Papers of the Presidents is the official publication of United States Presidents' selected speeches, press conferences, messages, statements and other documents arranged chronologically with appendix information containing list of nominations, daily schedule and more.
Published by: United States Government Printing Office

Women and Social Movements (Scholar's Edition) includes projects, full text documents, well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Search by social movements, authors, sources, and more.
Alternate titles: WASM; Women & social movements in the United States
Published by: Alexander Street Press

Provides free Internet access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Published by: Library of Congress