Research Guides: Engineering Education: Databases

Search Tips

Boolean Operators

AND	Include terms both before and after the "AND" (limiter)
OR	Include either the terms before or after the "OR" (expander)
*	Truncates the string (comp* will get 'comps' or 'computer', for example)
"abc xyz"	Searches for the full string inside the quotes exactly as typed (frequently used for multiple-word phrases such as "internet of things")
NOT	Excludes the word after the "NOT" (be careful - this can backfire as it will exclude any article with this word anywhere in the fields searched)
Learn More	There are a lot more Boolean operators. Not all are supported by every database (and some have their own syntax), so check your database's "Search tips", "Help" or "User Manual".

Acknowledgment

This page is adapted, with permission, from the content on the University of Florida Engineering Education LibGuide by Amy Buhler.

Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text for journals, proceedings, and ebooks published by ACM.
Published by: Association for Computing Machinery
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology, formerly IEE) publications.
Alternate titles: IEE electronic library; IEEE explore
Published by: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Alternate titles: Ei Compendex web
Published by: Elsevier
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Indexing of the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering with more than 8 million records taken from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage from 1896 to the present, and records are updated weekly. Inspec is produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers (now the Institution of Engineering and Technology).
Published by: Elsevier
Technology Research Database This link opens in a new window
This database is the total technology research solution, indexing world literature on technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering. It incorporates Materials Research Database with METADEX, Engineering Research Database, High Technology Research Database with Aerospace and all of their subfiles.
Published by: ProQuest
EI Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new window
Portal allows for the searching of the GEOBASE, GeoRef, Compendex, and INSPEC databases. Indexing and abstracting of journals, trade publications, patents, technical reports, and conference proceedings in all fields of engineering, and the world literature of physics, electronics, electrical and control engineering, and computer science.
Alternate titles: EV
Published by: Elsevier

ASEE PEER
The American Society for Engineering Education's conference paper repository.
Full text from 1996 - present
Frontiers in Education (FIE) Clearinghouse
The past conference proceedings and future dates and locations for FIE are all available on this page. Access is open to the public.
AERA Online Paper Repository
The AERA Online Paper Repository is an open-access clearinghouse with abstracts of all scientific presentations given at AERA annual meetings since 2010

Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers all levels of education "from early childhood to higher education” as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles from 1966 to the present. In addition to journal articles from leading education journals, ERIC also contains conference proceedings, technical reports and research analyses, dissertations, teaching guides, instructional materials, books, and government documents.
Alternate titles: Education Resources Information Center; Educational Resources Information Center
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
More than 3.5 million records spanning the 1880s to the present; covering roughly 2,500 journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences, including over 200 neuroscience titles. 99% of the journals are peer reviewed. Includes citations and abstracts to articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, and selected dissertations.
Alternate titles: Psyc Info; PsychINFO
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text covers social sciences including psychology, sociology, education, community health, policy sciences, minority studies, economics, social work, criminology, environmental studies, and more. Full text from 1994-present, Indexing from 1983-present.
Alternate titles: Social science fulltext
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Alternate titles: Socioabs
Published by: ProQuest

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
Alternate titles: Web of Knowledge ; WOS; Institute for Scientific information citation databases
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
A collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Alternate titles: PQDTG; PQDT; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - UK & Ireland
Published by: ProQuest

Digital Libraries

LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window
Focusing learning and technology, LearnTechLib encompasses 30+ years and 135,000+ peer-reviewed full-text documents and abstracts of published international journal articles, conference papers from 265,000+ leading authors and additional multimedia-rich resources.