Research Guides: Government Information: Census

Census Resources

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Data from Census 2000 and Census 2010, as well as the American Community Survey and Economic Census.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to the present along with easy map creation. Data for earlier years may not be available for all geographies.
Neighborhood Change Database (GeoLytics) This link opens in a new window
Access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010 at the census tract level. The interface creates, from extracted census data, tabular data, maps, and shapefiles with census data already linked.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR supplies data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data and contains American Housing Survey data and more. Create an account using your TAMU email to access data and download data available only to ICPSR members.

StatsAmerica
Data items from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data.
IPUMS National Historical Geographic Information System
The IPUMS National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides free online access to summary statistics and GIS files for U.S. censuses and other nationwide surveys from 1790 through the present. Must register to use.
Household Pulse Survey
The Household Pulse Survey is designed to deploy quickly, and to efficiently collect data on emergent social and economic matters facing U.S. households.
Missouri Census Data Center
The MCDC data archive, is one of the premier sites in the country for accessing census and other public, machine-readable demographic and geographic data.

2020 Census Fact Sheets
Census 101, Census and Confidentiality, and more.
2020 Census Residence Criteria
Lets college students know where they count (college students are counted where they live and sleep most of the time - so most students are not counted in their parents household).
Census Citizenship Question SCOTUS Case
Supreme Court Case not allowing the Citizenship question on the 2020 Census
Differential Privacy for Census Data Explained
From the National Conference of State Legislatures

U.S. Census Redistricting Data Program
While the states are responsible for legislative redistricting, the Census Bureau provides the most accurate population counts possible for the geographic areas the states need.
Redistricting Data Hub
The Redistricting Data Hub is a project of the Fair Representation in Redistricting Initiative, a project of New Venture Fund (NVF). NVF has contracted with HaystaqDNA—a political data consulting firm with a track record of success in supporting nonpartisan redistricting—to provide the publicly-available data and services.

Resources for R, Python, and JavaScript
Explore some of these open-source libraries and packages for working with ACS data that have been created by developers in the data user community.
Analyzing Census Data in SAS Studio
Learn how to access, import, visualize, prepare, and analyze U.S. Census Bureau data in SAS Studio.

Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to genealogy resources, including vital, census, military records and more.

History Hub
A research support community for genealogists, historians, and archivists.
Census Tree
The Census Tree is the largest-ever database of record links among the historical U.S. censuses, with over 700 million links for people living in the United States between 1850 and 1940.

NARA 1950 Census Records
Approximately 6.57 million population schedules; 33,360 Indian Reservation schedules
9,634 enumeration district maps images; 234,447 enumeration district descriptions; Location and name-based search capabilities. Explore the records by State, County/City, Name, Reservation, and Enumeration District.

Print volumes of the Decennial Censuses are located in the Evans Annex 5th floor.

1840 - I 7.2: and I 7.5:

1850 - I 8.2: and I 8.5:

1860 - I 9.2: and I 9.5:

1870 - I 10.2: and I 10.5:

1880 - I 11.2: and I 11.5:

1890 - I 12.2: and I 12.5:

1900 - I 13.2: and I 13.5:

1910 - C 3.16:

1920 - C 3.28/5:

1930 - C 3.37/5:

1940 - C 3.940-2:

1950 - C 3.950-7:

1960 - C 3.223/9:960/

1970 - C 3.223/9:970/

1980 - C 3.223/no.:980/

1990 - C 3.223/no.:990/