Research Guides: History: Europe

Scholarly Literature

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database(tm) provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. This database is the definitive index for religious and theological literature. ATLA Religion Database contains more than 1.5 million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in over 60 languages. It includes more than 517,000 article citations from more than 1,616 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 220,000 essay citations from over 16,100 multi-author works, more than 474,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations.
Alternate titles: American Theological Library Association religion database
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
This is an entry point for the International Medieval Bibliography, the Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale, and the Bibliographie Annuelle du Moyen-Age Tardif.
Alternate titles: BCM; Bibliographie de civilisation medievale
Published by: Brepols Publishers
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in Medieval and Renaissance literature, history, and related topics. Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research project with partners in Toronto (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe. Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources. The database includes citations from over 1700 journals, published since 1784, as well as essays from over 7000 scholarly collections published since 1931.
Published by: Iter
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic review articles written by experts in the following subject areas: *African Studies, *American Literature, *Art History, *Atlantic History, *Biblical Studies, *British and Irish Literature, *Classics, *Latin American Studies, *Latino Studies, *Medieval Studies, *Renaissance and Reformation, & *Victorian Literature

Primary Sources

Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
Defining Gender covers five centuries of advice literature for men and women of original manuscripts (over 60,000) from 1450-1910. Includes ballads, cartoons and pamphlets is featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals.
Published by: Adam Matthew Digital
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Published by: ProQuest

American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1-2 This link opens in a new window
These two collections of electronic books contain 29,000 titles that focus primarily on religious thought but address many other academic areas. Books range from 1850-1923.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
Published by: ProQuest
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
Published by: ProQuest

Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books on economic and business published from 1460 through 1850, and pre-1906 serials. Covers economics in a broad sense, including history, commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Alternate titles: MOME
Published by: Gale/Cengage Learning, Inc.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. While not scholarly, it is considered authoritative in presenting the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them.
Published by: Gale/Cengage Learning, Inc.

ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
A research tool for scholars and students in all areas of French studies.
Alternate titles: Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language
Published by: University of Chicago

Visual History Archive (Shoah) This link opens in a new window
Note: If you are a new user, you must first create a free account.
The VISUAL HISTORY ARCHIVE provides an opportunity to access over 51,000 digitized interviews taken with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. Interviews were taken in 56 countries and in 32 languages.
Alternate titles: Shoah Foundation's visual history archive project
Published by: University of Southern California