History

This search engine provides subscribers with a powerful research tool for exploring the AllAfrica story archive, which contains over a million articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
Alternate titles: All Africa.com
Published by: AllAfrica Global Media

Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Multidisciplinary archive of digitized scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and general and biological sciences but continues to grow.
Published by: JSTOR

Provides access to over 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents from libraries and archives around the world. Explore colonial history, politics, culture and society relating to the story of Empire from the American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Includes thematic essays by leading scholars with hyperlinks to the documentary evidence. Five thematic sections concentrate on Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969 (Section I); Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire (Section II); The Visible Empire (Section III); Religion & Empire (Section IV); and Race, Class, Imperialism & Colonialism, c.1607-1969 (Section V).
Published by: Adam Matthew Digital

Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), the World Newspaper Archive provides access to historical (pre-1923) Latin American newspapers. Readex has announced future plans to add African, Slavic & East European, and South Asian Newspapers.
Published by: Readex