Research Guides: International Affairs: Reference Sources

Need to Know: Summary Guide to IR Theory

Dr. Labaree at USC has created a great summary of major international relations theories including definition and citation of the originating source. It’s a great primer for selecting a theoretical framework for a paper. His IR LibGuide groups them alphabetically from Balance of Power to World-Systems analysis:

Biographical Sources

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
A well known and trusted source for general information on a variety of topics, it includes biographical information, world atlas, timelines, a country comparison feature, Britannica daily, a subject search and browse, a video collection and much more!
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research including many biographical sources.
Marquis Who's Who This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-the-minute biographies of global leaders and achievers in the areas of business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, and entertainment.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides a "Research People" search on its main page where users can search by name. Users may choose to search for biographical references, which draws primarily from the Marquis Who's Who directory, or recent news stories that involve the name entered.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed biographical information on of important persons (from politicians to pop culture) in the British Empire.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Biography and Genealogy Master Index provides coverage of nearly 5 million contemporary and historical figures, citing in which sources biographical information can be found on each.
Alternate titles: BGMI
Published by: Gale/Cengage Learning, Inc.

Handbooks & Dictionaries

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online in Political Science are currently available through 2012; they will soon be available through 2019.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, over 260 volumes published since 1960 covering 15 different academic subjects including Political Science.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading researchers. Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines including Political Science, Law, Social Sciences and Economics.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Offers a variety of language learning aids, including the following: (1) Unabridged dictionaries between languages (2) Examples of vocabulary items in context (3) Oxford Language Web which displays translations of words in 13 languages at a glance (4) cultural and historical information on many countries.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Digital version of the Loeb Classical Library which includes Greek and Latin literature in an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library.
The Statesman's Yearbook This link opens in a new window
This site contains the full text of The Statesman's Yearbook, from the first edition published in 1864 up to the present. The Yearbook is regularly updated to reflect recent world events, with extensive search and browse facilities.
Published by: Springer Nature

Government Directories

Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
Directory of public and private sector personnel contacts at U.S. government, business, professional, and nonprofit organizations. Search for government, corporate, financial, news media, associations, law firms, government affairs, foreign representatives, and nonprofit sector contacts.

US Government Manual
Includes information on government agencies in a pdf format. Just choose a year and browse for the specific agency. It will list the administrative individuals as well a providing and overview of the agency itself. Coverage in 1998 through 2020.
Congressional Directory
A directory of government agencies in a pdf format. Just choose a year and browse for the specific agency. It will list the individuals and their roles, down to the manager level in most cases. Coverage in 1998 through 2020.

Washington Information Directory This link opens in a new window
The CQ Washington Information Directory Online Edition brings together CQ's wealth of contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations in a single, easy-to-use, and fully integrated database.