Research Guides: Aerospace Engineering: Find Articles & Conference Papers

Open Access Journals

Scholarly Publications

Scholarly research is a time consuming, multi-step process.

Use the resources on this page to identify relevant scholarly sources.
Use "Find TEXT@TAMU" or "Get It For Me" to retrieve item (article, paper, book chapter, etc.).
Use a bibliographic manager application (RefWorks, EndNote, BibTex, etc.) to organize your citations, and to site them properly.

Find Journal Articles & conference Papers

To do a comprehensive literature review for a thesis, dissertation, research project, capstone/design class, search the following bibliographic (citation) databases:

No full text is available in these databases
Use the "find text @TAMU" button for document (article, paper, etc.) options
- follow links to full text, OR
- if still no FT is available, click on Get It For Me - they will scan the article, paper, book chapter (<50 pages) free of charge.

Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Alternate titles: Ei Compendex web
Published by: Elsevier
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Indexing of the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering with more than 8 million records taken from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage from 1896 to the present, and records are updated weekly. Inspec is produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers (now the Institution of Engineering and Technology).
Published by: Elsevier
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important science and engineering journals. Search by author, subject, or look for all the papers which have cited another paper. Part of the ISI Web of Knowledge, Web of Science product.
Alternate titles: SCI
Published by: Thomson Reuters
Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
The Aerospace Database provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.
Alternate titles: Aerospace and high technology database
Published by: ProQuest
ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices, and space sciences.
Alternate titles: High technology research database with aerospace; ProQuest Telecommunications
Published by: ProQuest

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A full-text, scholarly database of more than 12,000 journals (10,900 peer-reviewed) in almost every academic discipline. Also includes over 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
With almost 1,700 full-text journals (over 1,300 peer-reviewed), this database provides coverage of a wide range of topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Applied Science and Technology Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides access to seven decades of information from historical sources in the applied science and technology field, many of them peer-reviewed journals. Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983), offering unique coverage of business and industry up through 1983.
Alternate titles: Applied science and technology index retrospective
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Engineering Research Database This link opens in a new window
The Engineering Research Database indexes the international serial and non-serial literature pertaining to civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, and transportation engineering including their complementary fields of forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics/computation. Content includes basic and applied research, design, construction, technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, energy production and developments in new technologies. The documents covered include 3,000 primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports. Subfiles that make up the CSA Engineering Research Database can be searched separately if desired. The subfiles are: ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering, Civil Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, and Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts.
Published by: ProQuest
Engineering Source This link opens in a new window
Engineering Source offers cover-to-cover indexing for over 3,000 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all directly dealing with engineering-related issues. Energy-focused monographs, books, conference papers and proceedings are also included.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Published by: Google
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Science & Technology Collection contains full-text articles from more than 820 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
Access all of AIAA's journal articles and conference papers - includes archival journals, dating back to the 1930s.

NOTE: journal articles and conference papers provided by the publisher and societies listed below, are also indexed in bibliographic (citation) databases such as Compendex, INSPEC, Web of Science, etc.)

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text for journals, proceedings, and ebooks published by ACM.
Published by: Association for Computing Machinery
American Nuclear Society Journals This link opens in a new window
The American Nuclear Society is a not-for-profit, international, scientific and educational organization. It was established by a group of individuals who recognized the need to unify the professional activities within the diverse fields of nuclear science and technology.
Alternate titles: ANS
Published by: American Nuclear Society
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
The ASME Digital Library, is ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature. TAMU's access includes ASME's Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present. Access to conference proceedings are from 2002 to the present and ebooks are from 1993 to the present.
Alternate titles: ASME Digital Library
Published by: American Society of Mechanical Engineers
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology, formerly IEE) publications.
Alternate titles: IEE electronic library; IEEE explore
Published by: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
INIS Database This link opens in a new window
Reference database for scientific literature published worldwide on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology with over 3 million bibliographic citations and abstracts of journal articles, scientific and technical reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards, and web documents, covering publications in 63 languages; all records include keywords and most have an abstract in English.
Alternate titles: International Nuclear Information System
Published by: International Atomic Energy Agency
Journals of the American Physical Society This link opens in a new window
Search PROLA (Physical Reviews Online Archive from 1893); full text of current Physical Review titles; search Virtual Journals, an online collection of relevant papers in hot research areas assembled from a broad range of "source" journals in the physical sciences, jointly established by APS and AIP.
Published by: American Physical Society
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of major journals in the life, physical, and social sciences, technology, and engineering; full text of online reference books and >2000 Elsevier-published journals.
Alternate titles: Science Direct
Published by: Elsevier
AIP Publishing This link opens in a new window
Online journal hosting service from the American Institute of Physics for more than 110 titles in the physical sciences, engineering, and technology. Cross-links to content in many other scientific databases including ASCE; TAMU users may register and customize the site.
Published by: American Institute of Physics
SIAM Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to 14 scholarly journals published by SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) from 1952 to the present.
Alternate titles: Society for industrial and applied mathematics journals online
Published by: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 450,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. Ebooks from 2016 to the present are also available.
Published by: SPIE
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and browsable full-text collection of almost 2000 scholarly journals covering the biomedical and life sciences; chemistry, engineering, technology, and materials science; earth and environmental science; the humanities, social sciences, and law; and the Russian Library of Science.
Alternate titles: Kluwer journals online; Kluwer online gateway
Published by: Springer

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Publications
more...less...
Publications include: conference proceedings and more.

Aerospace
MDPI; ISSN: 2226-4310
Indexed in Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
Journal of Aerospace & Technology
ISSN: 1735-2134. Italian Aerospace Society, English
Directory of Open access Journals