Research Guides: Hispanic Studies & Spanish Language: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Finding material in a foreign language can be tricky, however, there are many resources that include material from other languages. You can search all the EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete by setting the language search limit. The following databases are broad in scope and can be used for a variety of research topics.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A full-text, scholarly database of more than 12,000 journals (10,900 peer-reviewed) in almost every academic discipline. Also includes over 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of digitized scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and general and biological sciences but continues to grow.
Published by: JSTOR
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
Alternate titles: Web of Knowledge ; WOS; Institute for Scientific information citation databases
PRISMA This link opens in a new window
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.
Alternate titles: Publicaciones y revistas sociales y humanisticas
Published by: ProQuest
Fuente Académica Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, covering all major subject areas with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Alternate titles: Fuente Academica Plus
Fuente Academica Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, covering all major subject areas with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Alternate titles: Fuente Académica Premier
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. It is an authoritative bibliography of Latin American Studies research in all disciplines. HLAS is searchable back to 1935, when the Handbook was first published. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Published since 1936.
Published by: Library of Congress
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six full-text databases: Standard Catalogs, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text.

Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Bibliografia de la literatura Espanola desde 1980 This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of all related documentation published in any language. It covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material.
Alternate titles: Bibliografía de la literatura Española desde 1980
Published by: ProQuest
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Latino literature from three major sources: the world of Aztlán, the mythical homeland of the Aztecs prior to Cortez; the Spanish heritage of the national homelands of the writers; and the intersection of these two with Anglo culture. Biographies.
Alternate titles: LALI
Published by: Alexander Street Press
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access for readers of all ages and skill levels. Beginning-level users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.

This resource also searches the Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online.
Alternate titles: CLR; Children's literature review online; CMLC; Classical and medieval literature criticism online; LC; Literature criticism from fourteen hundred to eighteen hundred; PC; SC; Shakespearean criticism yearbook; SSC; 19th century literature criticism; NCLC; TCLC; CLC Autobiography series SAAS; SATA autobiography series; Something about the author autobiography series; DLBYB; DLB documentary series; DLBDS
Published by: Gale/Cengage Learning, Inc.

Beprolis Medieval Bibliographies
Scholarly literature on Medieval topics. This resource includes access to Brepol's International Medieval Bibliography - Online (IMB), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and International Directory of Medievalists. A partial print version of the IMB is available in the Reference Department.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 350 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from Johns Hopkins' University Press, as well as a growing number of other University Presses and scholarly publishers. Coverage is current with years of back issues varying by title.
Published by: Johns Hopkins University Press
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
The Chicano Database identifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database covers 1967 to the present, with more than 48,000 records. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants. The database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological and educational literature.
Alternate titles: RLG's Eureka Chicano database
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Wilson Indexes
A collection of databases of article citations, on a variety of subjects from science to business to the social sciences. The web versions of Humanities Index, Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature and Essay and General Literature Index will provide citations to literary criticism articles and book chapters. Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature, AI3 .R48, continues Poole’s Index, AI3 .P7, covering periodical literature from 1800 to present. Essay and General Literature Index includes citations to articles and book chapters from 1900 to present, AI3 .E752. Humanities Index will provide citations to criticism articles in literature, including poetry, short fiction, drama and novels. The print indexes back to 1972. AI3 .H84

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
Alternate titles: Web of Knowledge ; WOS; Institute for Scientific information citation databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Social Science Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index are part of the Web of Knowledge, an online database indexing resources in all areas. It includes citations of critical articles on popular culture, film and television. The online versions go back to 1982 while the paper version of Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Z5931 .A78 goes back to 1975, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Z7163 .S6 extends back to 1956.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
A collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Alternate titles: PQDTG; PQDT; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - UK & Ireland
Published by: ProQuest
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
Book Review Digest Plus includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all book review citations and full text of reviews.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

Print Resources

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974 indexes reviews in all subjects in the humanities, by title and author, from 1802 to 1974. Cites 500,000+ book reviews gathered from more than 150 humanities journals. "Most of these reviews have never been included in any retrospective multi-title book review index." Includes book reviews, "book notes," and "book briefs." Excludes "review articles" in which a number of subject-related books are reviewed simultaneously (unless the book titles are listed in the article). Z6265 .C65 1982
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journalslists reviews found in 459 scholarly journals in the fields of history, political science, and sociology, citing more than a million book reviews gathered from scholarly journals published between 1886 and 1974. "Most of these reviews have never been included in any retrospective multi-title book review index." Includes book reviews, "book notes," and "book briefs." Z1035 .A1 C64
Granger's Index to Poetry is a fairly complete index to poetry, by title, subject and first line. Each edition covers a select span of years, so be certain to check all editions. PN1022 .C63. Soon to be available electronically.
PoemFinder is another primary index to English and American poetry. It is available on the Literature stand-alone in Evans Reference and may searched by keyword as well as by author and title.
Poetry Criticism contains excerpts from criticism of the works of the most significant and widely studied poets of world literature. A good resource for bio-bibliographical information and criticism on a poet and his work. PN1010 .P499
Magill Critical Survey of Poetry includes critical essays on poets and their works, including themes, plots and other critical discussion. PR 502 C85
Masterplots II. Poetry Series organized by author, this series offers brief critical information of major poets and their works, including major themes and constructions and pertinent biographical information. PN 1110.5 M37

Online Resources

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
Alternate titles: LLBA
Published by: ProQuest
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles from 1966 to the present. In addition to journal articles from leading education journals, ERIC also contains conference proceedings, technical reports and research analyses, dissertations, teaching guides, instructional materials, books, and government documents.
Alternate titles: Education Resources Information Center; Educational Resources Information Center
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
ProQuest Databases (All) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive search of all ProQuest databases subscribed to by TAMU Libraries.
Published by: ProQuest
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of major journals in the life, physical, and social sciences, technology, and engineering; full text of online reference books and >2000 Elsevier-published journals.
Alternate titles: Science Direct
Published by: Elsevier

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics, Second Edition, covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines such as anthropology, education, psychology, language acquisition, cognitive science, media, computer science, sociology, medicine, and the law. This is the first Elsevier encyclopedia to make extensive use of video, audio, and image files online. Essential for anyone involved in the study of language.

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Highly recommended, comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information.
Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Includes selected abstracts from research journals.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from business periodicals, news sources, and scholarly research, covering a wide-range of business topics.
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the R. C. Barclay Endowment of the Center for Retailing Studies at Texas A&M University.
Published by: ProQuest
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles and press releases from the U.S. and international countries. This collection includes the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, and the Associated Press.
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the R. C. Barclay Endowment of the Center for Retailing Studies at Texas A&M University and the Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University.
Published by: ProQuest; Dow Jones

Info Trac. Custom Newspapers
Includes over 40 million full text articles from 150 newspapers from around the world, updated daily. Also includes 300 plus selected general news and business sources. You can narrow searches to sections of the newspaper, including: Business News, Lifestyle, News, Opinion and Editorial, Regional News, and Sports.
Library PressDisplay
Same day full-image versions of 500 newspapers from 70 countries, in 37 languages. Most have 30 to 60 day archives.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources.
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University.
Alternate titles: Academic Universe; Lexis Nexis; LexisNexis Academic
Published by: LexisNexis

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Recent news articles and reports from 28 major national US newspapers and an additional 260 regional newspapers. The date coverage varies by newspaper, but generally includes reports from the last 5-10 years. It also includes tv and radio transcripts from major providers such as ABC, CBS, and CNN news.
World News Connection
Source for international coverage of topics by non-US media sources. Searchable by topic, region and headlines. Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), based on monitoring & analysis by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Coverage from the late 1990s to the present.
Access World News Collection
Collection of local, regional, and national newspapers from across the globe. Provides an easy to use search interface.
BBC News & Analysis in Your Language
Prensa Escrita
Global coverage of Spanish (and some Portuguese papers) listed by country and region or city, depending upon the country. Links are to the papers' sites and their respective RSS feeds.

CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Fact Book site provides wide-ranging and hard-to-locate information about the background, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports
Outlines a country's economic and political status and background. Covering 200 countries, Country Profiles put an annual perspective on the long-term political and social issues affecting each country while Country Reports keeps pace with national, regional and global events in the short- to medium-term.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
State Department Background Notes
Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Statesman's Yearbook Online
Contains the full text of The Statesman's Yearbook, from the first edition published in 1864 up to the current edition. The Yearbook is regularly updated to reflect recent world events, with extensive search and browse facilities.
World Almanac (OCLC)
The World Almanac database includes the contents of: the World Almanac and Book of Facts, the World Almanac of the U.S.A., the World Almanac of U.S. Politics, the World Almanac for Kids, and Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia.