Research Guides: Research Data Management: Find Data

Evaluate Data

Data user quality assessment checklist
This is an assessment checklist to be completed by anyone contemplating the use of data produced by another organization.

TAMU Data

TAMU Data
From the Office of Academic & Business Performance Analytics.

Where Can I Find Data?

Dimensions Analytics This link opens in a new window
Dimensions includes nearly 12 million datasets from multiple repositories worldwide. It contains linked research information and is useful at finding data related to grants, clinical trials, scholarly publications and more.
Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
A platform for accessing data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it.
Published by: United States Census Bureau
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Some data files are available in SAS, SPSS, and Stata.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Includes: American Statistics Index (ASI) A&I and PDF, Statistical Reference Index (SRI) A&I and PDF, Index to International Statistics (IIS) A&I and PDF, Tables and Data Sets.
Alternate titles: LexisNexis Statistical Insight ;
Published by: ProQuest

Google Dataset Search
A search engine from Google that helps researchers locate online data that is freely available for use.
Government Data
A Best Bets list of government data resources.
GIS Data
Data by Place or Topic -collections of free data sources found on the web.
Library of Congress Selected Datasets
The Library of Congress selectively makes accessible datasets and their associated content for use by the U.S. Congress, staff and individual researchers. The Library selects datasets for its permanent collection which rank high on the following list of criteria: usefulness in serving the current or future informational needs of Congress and researchers.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a database that contains international statistics, facts, and market data taken from free and proprietary sources.
Published by: Statista Inc.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
A collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. These are datasets taken from larger national and international data sources, cleaned and reduced in size and complexity for teaching and self-study purposes, perfect for researchers, learning a new method, or brushing up on a familiar one.
Published by: SAGE Publications

Restricted Data

These sources require researchers to submit a proposal or research need to access the data. Please understand this may take significant time and that you may not be granted access by the data holder.

ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal and application system for discovering and requesting restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. Please note: these data are not accessed through ICPSR but through the relevant statistical agencies.
Texas Research Data Center
The Texas Research Data Center collaborates with the U.S. Census Bureau, which provides researchers in Texas and beyond access to non-public versions of datasets in the federal statistical system.
Federal Statistical Research Data Centers
Five agencies directly provide data through Federal Statistical Research Data Centers. Each agency has its own review and approval process.