Research Guides: Resources for Clinicians in Practice: Freely Available Resources

About

This page was designed specifically for clinicians seeking reliable and accessible medical information resources. Here, you'll find a curated collection of freely available resources, ranging from books and journals to drug databases and patient education materials. Our goal is to empower you with the tools necessary to make informed decisions and provide optimal care to your patients. Whether you're a seasoned practitioner of just starting your medical career, explore our page to discover valuable resources that support evidence-based practice and enhance clinical outcomes.

Resources

Merk Manual
Free reference book for physicians and pharmacists.
NCBI Bookshelf
Provides free online access to books and documents in life sciences and healthcare.

PubMed
Clinical Trials
Online database of clinical research studies and information about their results
Find Trials
Guide to searching for clinical studies
LactMed
The National Library of Medicine's Drug and Lactation database.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Tool for finding national and international guidelines
Medscape
A free alternative to UpToDate

DailyMed
National Library of Medicine database with over 100,000 medication labels that have been submitted to the FDA.
MedlinePlus
Prescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information.
PubChem
Collection of freely accessible chemical information.

Directory of Open Access Journals
Extensive index of diverse open access journals.
Free Medical Journals
Promotes the free availability of full text medical journals online.

MedlinePlus
Free service from the National Library of Medicine that helps to connect patients to information of specific health topics, a medical encyclopedia, and healthy recipes.
MedlinePlus Connect
Free service from the National Library of Medicine that allows patient portals and electronic health record systems to link directly to resources in MedlinePlus. It can connect medical codes to relevant patient education information.

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS provides timely and accurate health statistics for the United States.
KFF - State Health Facts
More than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded.
CDC - Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
The nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
A program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute that provides a snapshot of the health of nearly every county in the nation.
City Health Dashboard
Provides data specific to neighborhood and/or city boundaries such as life expectancy, park access, and children in poverty to improve the health and well-being of communities.
Rural Health Information Hub
Is funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy to be a national clearinghouse on rural health issues.
NaNDA
The National Neighborhood Data Archive (NaNDA) is a publicly available data archive containing measures of the physical, economic, demographic, and social environment at multiple levels of spatial scale.