Aquaculture by
A clear illustration of the important role of aquaculture in supporting food security, livelihoods, and economic development around the world This new edition of Aquaculture: Farming Aquatic Animals and Plants covers important aspects of the culture of fish, shellfish, and algae in freshwater and marine environments. Subject areas covered include principles of aquaculture, water quality, environmental impacts of aquaculture, desert aquaculture, reproduction, life cycles and growth, genetics and stock improvement, nutrition and feed production, diseases, vaccination, post-harvest technology, economics and marketing, and future developments of aquaculture. Separate chapters also cover the culture of algae, carps, salmonids, tilapias, catfish, marine and brackish fishes, soft-shelled turtles, barramundi, marine shrimp, mitten crabs, and other decapod crustaceans, bivalves, gastropods, and ornamental species. This edition also provides greater coverage of aquaculture in China, reflecting the country's importance in the global scene. Providing core scientific and commercially useful information, and written by 35 eminent international authors, this expanded and fully updated Third Edition of Aquaculture is essential reading for all students and professionals studying and working in aquaculture. Fish farmers, hatchery managers, and those in aquaculture support and supply industries, such as feed manufacturing, will find an abundance of commercially useful information within this important and now established book. Describes the multitude of developments that have occurred within the aquaculture field over the last 15 years Includes a major revision of production statistics and trends, discussion of technical developments, and revised and extended coverage provided by broader international authorship Brings together 35 internationally recognized contributors, including a number of new contributors Aquaculture: Farming Aquatic Animals and Plants, Third Edition is a recommended text for students of the subject and a concise reference for those working in or entering into the industry.
Aquaculture: An Introductory Text by
Providing a broad and readable overview of the subject, this updated fourth edition of Aquaculture: An Introductory Text covers issues associated with sustainable aquaculture development, culture systems, hatchery methods, nutrition and feeding of aquaculture species, reproductive strategies, harvesting, and many other topics. While its main focus is on the culture of fish, molluscs and crustaceans for food, the book also covers other forms of aquaculture, such as the production of seaweeds, recreational fish and ornamental species, as well as live foods, such as algae and rotifers that are used to feed larval shrimp and marine fish.
Aquaculture Ecology by
This book introduces aquaculture ecology as a science of the interaction between commercial aquatic organisms as well as their farming activities and the environment, including the rationales of building and management of aquaculture systems. This book covers productivity and carrying capacity, effects of cyclical fluctuation of environmental factors on aquatic organisms, biological control of water quality, structural optimization of aquaculture systems and ecological prevention of disease. In the last chapter, aquaculture production systems are introduced from multiple perspectives. This book has been designed to provide a stimulating and informative text for researchers in aquaculture, fisheries as well as hydrobiology.
Aquaculture Engineering by
The revised edition of the comprehensive book that explores the principles and applications of aquaculture engineering Since the publication of the first edition of Aquaculture Engineering there have been many advances in the industry. The revised and thoroughly updated third edition of Aquaculture Engineering covers the principles and applications of all major facets of aquaculture engineering and the newest developments in the field. Written by a noted expert on the topic, the new edition highlights information on new areas of interest including RAS technology and offshore fish farming. Comprehensive in scope, the book examines a range of topics including: water transportation and treatment; feed and feeding systems; fish transportation and grading; cleaning and waste handling; instrumentation and monitoring; removal of particles; aeration and oxygenation; recirculation and water reuse systems; ponds; and the design and construction of aquaculture facilities. This important book: Presents an updated review of the basic principles and applications in aquaculture engineering Includes information on new areas of focus; RAS technology and offshore fish farming Contains a revised edition of the classic resource on aquaculture engineering Continues to offer an authoritative guide written by a leading expert in the field Written for aquaculture scientists and managers, engineers, equipment manufacturers and suppliers, and biological scientists, the third edition of Aquaculture Engineering is the authoritative guide to the topic that has been updated to include the most recent developments in the industry.
Blue Justice: Small-Scale Fisheries in a Sustainable Ocean Economy by
For small-scale fisheries around the world, the Blue Growth and Blue Economy initiatives may provide sustainable development, but only insofar as they align with the global consensus enshrined in the Voluntary Guidelines for Securing Sustainable Small-Scale Fisheries in the context of Food Security and Poverty Eradication. If states do nothing to fulfill the promises they made when they endorsed these guidelines in 2014, the Blue Economy will come at a loss for small-scale fisheries and further their marginalization in the ocean economy. Under the umbrella of Blue Justice, this book demonstrates that these risks are real and must be considered as states implement their sustainable ocean development plans. These are human rights issues, which are embedded into governance principles and institutions and which make a difference for small-scale fisheries people in their daily lives. In stressing the importance of policies and institutions that build on the experiences of small-scale fisheries people in the contexts in which they operate, this book draws on case studies of small-scale fisheries from countries on all continents to clarify what Blue Justice entails for small-scale fisheries and make suggestions for real change. "Through the Blue Justice paradigm, this book flags the relevance of recognizing the potential impact that different factors, including the Blue Economy approach, could bring to fishing communities, their livelihoods, cultural traditions, and other potential multidimensional conflicts. Vulnerability in fishing communities can increase and inequalities can be reinforced at different levels if individuals and community capabilities are not strengthened... A first of its kind, not to be missed, this book is informative, purposeful, and pertinent in an era of change". Silvia Salas, CINVESTAV, Marine Resources Department, Mérida, Mexico "The studies reveal that Blue Justice is a 'governability' issue, which requires establishing 'right' institutions, that are transdisciplinary (integrated), participatory, and holistic. It is implicit from these writings that the SSF Guidelines and Blue Growth initiatives do not form two different discourses, and that the implementation of the former would resolve many of the justice issues caused by the latter, in favor of small-scale fisheries and their communities". Oscar Amarasinghe, Professor and Chancellor, Ocean University of Sri Lanka and President, Sri Lanka Forum for Small Scale Fisheries (SLFSSF).
The Blue Revolution by
Overfishing. For the world's oceans, it's long been a worrisome problem with few answers. Many of the global fish stocks are at a dangerous tipping point, some spiraling toward extinction. But as older fishing fleets retire and new technologies develop, a better, more sustainable way to farm this popular protein has emerged to profoundly shift the balance. The Blue Revolution tells the story of the recent transformation of commercial fishing: an encouraging change from maximizing volume through unrestrained wild hunting to maximizing value through controlled harvesting and farming. Entrepreneurs applying newer, smarter technologies are modernizing fisheries in unprecedented ways. In many parts of the world, the seafood on our plates is increasingly the product of smart decisions about ecosystems, waste, efficiency, transparency, and quality. Nicholas P. Sullivan presents this new way of thinking about fish, food, and oceans by profiling the people and policies transforming an aging industry into one that is "post-industrial"--fueled by "sea-foodies" and locavores interested in sustainable, traceable, quality seafood. Catch quotas can work when local fishers feel they have a stake in the outcome; shellfish farming requires zero inputs and restores nearshore ecosystems; new markets are developing for kelp products, as well as unloved and "underutilized" fish species. Sullivan shows how the practices of thirty years ago that perpetuated an overfishing crisis are rapidly changing. In the book's final chapters, Sullivan discusses the global challenges to preserving healthy oceans, including conservation mechanisms, the impact of climate change, and unregulated and criminal fishing in international waters. In a fast-growing world where more people are eating more fish than ever before, The Blue Revolution brings encouraging news for conservationists and seafood lovers about the transformation of an industry historically averse to change, and it presents fresh inspiration for entrepreneurs and investors eager for new opportunities in a blue-green economy.
Fisheries and Aquaculture Economics by
The book provides information on the following areas to scientists, resource managers and researchers working with big data to advance more sustainable fisheries practices. Modeling in the areas of Feed Conversion Ratio (FCR), Specific Feeding Ratio (SFR), Key Performance Indicators (KPI) that are needed for efficient management of resources for sustainable production from fisheries sector. Neural Network forecasts that exceeded other traditional forecasting methods such as linear or logistic regression systems. Application of Big Data Analytics in aquaculture that facilitated to bring the techniques of aquaculture to a new level of in depth understanding and unlocking the economic potential of improved management decisions particularly can spot business trends, prevent disease, combat crime, and even revolutionize the health of fisheries. Application of ANN to forecast water quality and temperature that benefits aquaculture process control. Sensor Technology that offers real-time environmental monitoring system for aquaculture in a wide range of areas and visual signal processing system to continuously control the feeding process of fish in aquaculture tanks. Artificial Intelligence Systems that in turn helps in increased process efficiency; reduced energy and water losses; reduced labor costs; reduced stress and disease; better understanding of the process and efficient accounting are also. Data Mining for better control on the food loss and food quality in the aqua farming industry. Analysis of Value Chain of Processed Fish Products Partial Budget Analysis for better understanding of the farm's financial status and more efficient use of the resources available particularly for aquaculture practices. Tips for right type of statistical test to equip the social science researchers capable of performing of Statistical tests for various rating scales mostly used for social sciences research. A holistic, global-scale focus on challenges of IUU and technology initiatives to face the challenge This unique book explores a wide range of analytical issues centered on the aquaculture process management. It is expected that this book will be most useful who aims in achieving FAO's Sustainable Development Goal 14, which calls on the international community to effectively regulate fish harvesting end overfishing, illegal fishing, and destructive fishing practices, and to implement science-based management.
Fishing Europe's Troubled Waters by
- spans the last fifty years of fisheries policy in Europe - the parting contribution and career spanning reflection from one of Europe's most renowned social scientists working in this field - explains why the bold but deeply flawed Common Fisheries Policy persistently failed to deliver its basic goal of sustainable fisheries - a final section on Brexit focuses on the implications for the fisheries sector and the fateful final negotiations with the EU over the fisheries question - essential reading for students, scholars, professionals and policymakers working on fisheries, marine governance, natural resource management, environmental policy and the European Project
Freshwater Aquaculture: A Functional Approach by
Freshwater Aquaculture – the study of breeding, rearing and commercialization of organisms, fish in particular, which inhabit in fresh water. Even though there remains some fragmentary information regarding the history of development of aquaculture in India but those seem to be far from being complete. In the present communication, the same has been given elaborately. The book concentrates on the culture technology of commercially important fresh water fishes.Various types of culture techniques including Aquaponics, Bioflocs, Recirculatory Aquaculture Systems (RAS) apart from the conventional Cage culture, Pen culture, Integration of fish culture with other crops viz. paddy, vegetables, dairy, piggery, poultry etc. have been dispensed in detail.Note: T&F does not sell or distribute the Hardback in India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.
Freshwater Fisheries Ecology by
Inland fisheries are vital for the livelihoods and food resources of humans worldwide but their importance is underestimated, probably because large numbers of small, local operators are involved. Freshwater Fisheries Ecology defines what we have globally, what we are going to lose and mitigate for, and what, given the right tools, we can save. To estimate potential production, the dynamics of freshwater ecosystems (rivers, lakes and estuaries) need to be understood. These dynamics are diverse, as are the earth�s freshwater fisheries resources (from boreal to tropical regions), and these influence how fisheries are both utilized and abused. Three main types of fisheries are illustrated within the book: artisanal, commercial and recreational, and the tools which have evolved for fisheries governance and management, including assessment methods, are described. The book also covers in detail fisheries development, providing information on improving fisheries through environmental and habitat evaluation, enhancement and rehabilitation, aquaculture, genetically modified fishes and sustainability. The book thoroughly reviews the negative impacts on fisheries including excessive harvesting, climate change, toxicology, impoundments, barriers and abstractions, non-native species and eutrophication. Finally, key areas of future research are outlined. Freshwater Fisheries Ecology is truly a landmark publication, containing contributions from over 100 leading experts and supported by the Fisheries Society of the British Isles. The global approach makes this book essential reading for fish biologists, fisheries scientists and ecologists and upper level students in these disciplines. Libraries in all universities and research establishments where biological and fisheries sciences are studied and taught should have multiple copies of this hugely valuable resource. About the Editor John Craig is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Fish Biology and has an enormous range of expertise and a wealth of knowledge of freshwater fishes and their ecology, having studied them around the globe, including in Asia, North America, Africa, the Middle East and Europe. His particular interests have been in population dynamics and life history strategies. He is a Fellow of the Linnean Society of London and the Royal Society of Biology.
Nature-Made Economy by
An exploration of the economization of the ocean through the small modifications that enable great transformations of nature. The ocean is the site of an ongoing transformation that is aimed at creating new economic opportunities and prosperity. In Nature-Made Economy, Kristin Asdal and Tone Huse explore how the ocean has been harnessed to become a space of capital investment and innovation, and how living nature is wrested into the economy even as nature, in turn, resists, adapts to, or changes the economy. The authors' innovative methodological and conceptual approaches examine the economy by focusing on surprising and numerous "little tools"-such as maps and policy documents, quality patrols, and dietary requirements for the enhancement of species' biological propensities-that value, direct, reorder, accomplish, and sometimes fail to serve our ends, but also add up to great change. Throughout Nature-Made Economy, Asdal and Huse follow one species, the Atlantic cod, and explore how it is subjected to different versions of economization. Taking this species as a point of departure, they then provide novel analyses of the innovation economy, the architecture of markets, the settling of prices, and more, revealing how the ocean is rendered a space of intense economic exploitation. Through their analysis, the authors develop a distinct theoretical approach and conceptual vocabulary for studying nature-economy relations. Nature-Made Economy is a significant contribution to the broad field of STS and social studies of markets, as well as to studies of the Anthropocene, the environment, and human-animal relations.
Ocean Recovery: A Sustainable Future For Global Fisheries by
Over the last two decades, the scientific and popular media have been bombarded by gloom and doom stories of the future of fisheries, the status of fish stocks, and the impact of fishing on marine ecosystems. Dozens of certification and labeling schemes have emerged to advise consumers on what seafood is sustainable. In recent years, an opposing narrative has emerged emphasizing the success of fisheries management in many places, the increasing abundance of fish stocks in those places, and the prescription for sustainable fisheries. However, there has been no comprehensive survey of what really constitutes sustainability in fisheries, fish stock status, success and failures of management, and consideration of the impacts of fishing on marine ecosystems. This book will explore very different perspectives on sustainability, and bring together the data from a large number of studies to show where fish stocks are increasing, where they are declining, the consequences of alternative fisheries management regimes, and what is known about a range of fisheries issues such as the impacts of trawling on marine ecosystems. Ocean Recovery is aimed principally at a general audience that is already interested in fisheries but seeks both a deeper understanding of what is known about specific issues and an impartial presentation of all the data rather than selected examples used to justify a particular perspective or agenda. It will also appeal to the scientific community eager to know more about marine fisheries and fishing data, and serve as the basis for graduate seminars on the sustainability of natural resources.
The Tragedy of the Commodity by
Winner of the 2017 Paul Sweezy Marxist Sociology Book Award from the American Sociological Association Although humans have long depended on oceans and aquatic ecosystems for sustenance and trade, only recently has human influence on these resources dramatically increased, transforming and undermining oceanic environments throughout the world. Marine ecosystems are in a crisis that is global in scope, rapid in pace, and colossal in scale. In The Tragedy of the Commodity, sociologists Stefano B. Longo, Rebecca Clausen, and Brett Clark explore the role human influence plays in this crisis, highlighting the social and economic forces that are at the heart of this looming ecological problem. In a critique of the classic theory "the tragedy of the commons" by ecologist Garrett Hardin, the authors move beyond simplistic explanations--such as unrestrained self-interest or population growth--to argue that it is the commodification of aquatic resources that leads to the depletion of fisheries and the development of environmentally suspect means of aquaculture. To illustrate this argument, the book features two fascinating case studies--the thousand-year history of the bluefin tuna fishery in the Mediterranean and the massive Pacific salmon fishery. Longo, Clausen, and Clark describe how new fishing technologies, transformations in ships and storage capacities, and the expansion of seafood markets combined to alter radically and permanently these crucial ecosystems. In doing so, the authors underscore how the particular organization of social production contributes to ecological degradation and an increase in the pressures placed upon the ocean. The authors highlight the historical, political, economic, and cultural forces that shape how we interact with the larger biophysical world. A path-breaking analysis of overfishing, The Tragedy of the Commodity yields insight into issues such as deforestation, biodiversity loss, pollution, and climate change.
Transforming the Fisheries by
There is now widespread agreement that fish stocks are severely depleted and fishing activity must be limited. At the same time, the promise of the green economy appears to offer profitable new opportunities for a sustainable seafood industry. What do these seemingly contradictory ideas of natural limits and green growth mean in practice? What do they tell us more generally about current transformations to the way nature is valued and managed? And who suffers and who benefits from these new ecological arrangements? Far from abstract policy considerations, Patrick Bresnihan shows how new approaches to environmental management are transforming the fisheries and generating novel forms of exclusion in the process. Transforming the Fisheries examines how scientific, economic, and regulatory responses to the problem of overfishing have changed over the past twenty years. Based on fieldwork in a commercial fishing port in Ireland, Bresnihan weaves together ethnography, science, history, and social theory to explore the changing relationships between knowledge, nature, and the market. For Bresnihan, many of the key concepts that govern contemporary environmental thinking--such as scarcity, sustainability, the commons, and enclosure--should be reconsidered in light of the collapse of global fish stocks and the different ways this problem is being addressed. Only by considering these concepts anew can we begin to reinvent the ecological commons we need for the future.
