The 1982 Law of the Sea Convention and the Regulation of Offshore Renewable Energy Activities Within National Jurisdiction
by
There are various environmental and legal challenges arising from offshore renewable energy activities which were not foreseen at the time of the negotiation of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). This book explores how UNCLOS has evolved to adapt to these new challenges through legal mechanisms and examines what gaps may remain and how they should be filled. The book highlights the process of normative reinforcement in the regulation of offshore renewable energy activities whilst maintaining the fundamental balance of interests between the coastal State and other States.
Clean and Renewable Energy Production
by
According to the World Renewable Energy Council (WREC), by the year 2100, the world's population will increase to 12 billion and the worldwide energy demand will increase steeply to about five times the present scenario. Researchers are striving to find alternative forms of energy, and this quest is strongly forced by the increasing worry over climate change and planetary heating. Among the diverse varieties of alternative energy sources, biomass has the singular advantage of being carbon neutral. The carbon that is discharged to the atmosphere during its exercise is read back during the utilization of biomass resources for energy output. Currently, biomass provides approximately 13% of the world's primary energy supply and more than 75% of global renewable energy. Indeed, it is estimated that bioenergy could contribute 25–33% of the global energy supply by 2050. Continued adoption of biomass will require efficient conversion rates and avoidance of competition with food and fibers.
This book focuses on the recent practices in clean energy and renewable energy. The contributors highlight how newer technologies are reducing the dependency on non-renewable resources, benefiting the researchers who are working in the area of clean and renewable energy production. This new volume will also benefit mechanical engineers, electrical engineers, and bioengineers as they will be updated with the recent work progressing all over the globe. It will benefit the professionals working in the renewable energy sector such as solar, wind, hydrothermal, hydrogen, and bioenergy, including professors, research scholars, industry professionals, and students working in this field.
Climate Change and Ocean Renewable Energy
by
Renewable-energy is energy that is collected from renewable resources that are naturally replenished on a human timescale. Renewable-energy includes sources such as sunlight, tides, waves, wind, rain, and geothermal heat. According to BP's-2018 Energy Outlook (EO), renewable energy will be the fastest growing source of energy, increasing fivefold by 2040 thus providing around 14% of global primary energy at this future point. On the other hand, climate change is bringing about rising temperatures, which have significant negative impacts on humans and the environment, and transitioning to renewable energy sources, such as biofuels, can help meet this challenge. Transitioning to renewable energy, and reducing reliance on fossil fuels, is one way to help slow down the effects of climate change. While renewables used to be a more expensive option, new clean energy technologies are lowering costs and helping to move economies away from fossil fuels. The 1st International Conference on Climate Change and Ocean Renewable Energy (CCORE 2022), is a virtual conference held from November 4-7, 2022, presenting experiences and ideas through research talks and presentations from diverse fields in climate change and ocean renewable energy. This event offers a platform in bringing together a forum for students, postdocs and established scientists to exchange their ideas and contribute to an integrative approach to climate change and ocean renewable energy.
Economics of Offshore Wind Power: Challenges and Policy Considerations
by
Provides a thorough analysis of economics and regulation of offshore wind industry
Gives robust coverage of varying policy frameworks in the global landscape
Unlike other texts, goes beyond a focus on technology to understand policy and economic cost
Fostering a Blue Economy: Offshore Renewable Energy
by
Offshore renewable energy - including offshore wind and solar power, as well as emerging ocean energy technologies - could support sustainable long-term development and drive a vibrant blue economy. For countries and communities around the world, offshore renewables can provide reliable, stable electricity, as well as support water desalination and aquaculture. This report from the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) considers the status and prospects of offshore renewable sources and recommends key actions to accelerate their uptake. The development of renewable sources and technologies at sea promises to spur new industries and create jobs in line with the global energy transition. Offshore wind towers, with either fixed or floating foundations, and floating solar photovoltaic (PV) arrays offer clear technological and logistical synergies with the existing offshore oil and gas industry. Offshore renewables could provide clean power and ensure energy security for small island developing states (SIDS) and many of the least-developed countries (LDCs).
Fundamentals of Ocean Renewable Energy
by
Fundamentals of Ocean Renewable Energy: Generating Electricity from the Sea presents the basic concepts of mechanics and introduces the various technical aspects of ocean renewable energy. Contents follow a logical sequence, starting with hydrodynamics and then separately examining each conversion technology, with special focus on tidal energy, offshore wind and wave energy, as well as current and ocean thermal energy conversion (OTEC). The authors explore key topics for resource characterization and optimization, such as monitoring and measurement methods and ocean modeling. They also discuss the sustainability, planning, integration and distribution challenges for the implementation of these technologies, including co-location with other systems. Finally, case studies of ocean energy sites and devices allow for a better understanding of how ocean energy conversion works in real-world settings. This book is an invaluable resource for students at graduate and senior undergraduate level engineering (ocean, mechanical, and civil) and oceanography with prior knowledge of fluid mechanics and mechanics of materials. Presents the fundamental physics and theory behind ocean energy systems, covering both oceanographic and engineering aspects of ocean energy Explores the most widely adopted conversion technologies, including tidal, wave, offshore wind, ocean thermal and currents
Handbook of Ocean Wave Energy
by
This book is open access under a CC BY-NC 2.5 license. This book offers a concise, practice-oriented reference-guide to the field of ocean wave energy. The ten chapters highlight the key rules of thumb, address all the main technical engineering aspects and describe in detail all the key aspects to be considered in the techno-economic assessment of wave energy converters. Written in an easy-to-understand style, the book answers questions relevant to readers of different backgrounds, from developers, private and public investors, to students and researchers. It is thereby a valuable resource for both newcomers and experienced practitioners in the wave energy sector.
Handbook on Renewable Energy and Green Technology
by
This book is a collection and compilation of various principles of renewable energy technologies and explores how we can use the sun, wind, biomass, geothermal, tidal and water resources to generate energy in a more sustainable form. Each chapter begins with the fundamental theory behind each technology illustrated with clear figures to understand the principle and applications. It also explains the fundamentals of energy, including the transfer of energy, as well as the limitations of natural resources. Starting with solar and wind energy, the text illustrates how energy from the sun, wind and water is transferred and converted into electricity. Other chapters cover methods of energy conversion, biomass energy, biofuel production and other new and renewable sources of energy such as geothermal, hydro, tidal, and ocean energy.
Offshore Wind Power
by
The development of offshore wind power has become a pressing energy issue, driven by the need to find new electrical power sources and to reduce the use of fossil fuels. Offshore wind farms can harness tremendous wind resources without annoying citizens and with a comparatively low environmental impact. They are thus becoming a central pillar of a carbon free energy system. However offshore turbines and wind farms are costly to install and maintain, making reliability and cost-effectiveness key issues. This work covers reliability of offshore wind farms as a whole, starting from weather and wind conditions, dealing with wind turbine technology, farm layout, monitoring, safety and maintenance. The thoroughly revised second edition additionally covers turbines of up to 10 MW, turbine design changes, turbine converters, HVDC converter stations and DC links, offshore sub-sea collector and export cables, and the structures supporting large offshore wind farms.
Renewable Energy Benefits: Leveraging Local Capacity for Offshore Wind
by
Offshore wind projects create ample opportunities for local value creation. Income and jobs can be maximised by leveraging existing economic activities and building upon domestic supply chains. Education and training, however, must be attuned to emerging needs in the offshore wind industry. The development of a typical 500-megawatt offshore wind farm requires around 2.1 million person-days of work. Manufacturing takes up 59% of the labour requirements of such a project, followed by operation and maintenance (24%) and installation and grid connection (11%). Factory workers account for more than half of the labour needed in manufacturing. Offshore wind development benefits from synergies with offshore oil and gas, specifically in terms of skills and occupational patterns. Successful job migration between sectors, however, depends on dedicated retraining policies. Specific policy measures, such as upgrading and supplier development programmes, support for joint ventures, or industrial promotion schemes, may be needed to strengthen the industrial capacity of domestic firms.
Renewable Energy from the Oceans
by
There are many ways to harness the renewable and emissions-free energy available from the Earth's oceans. The technologies include wave energy, tidal and current energy, and energy from thermal and salinity gradients. In addition, offshore wind energy and marine (floating) solar arrays offer a possibility to exploit vast resources that are far larger than those available onshore. The potential capacities range from many hundreds of gigawatts to terawatts of generation. These technologies could contribute a significant part of the global electricity demand; they are particularly suitable for providing sustainable power to marine regions and island communities and nations.
Sustainable Ocean Resource Governance: Deep Sea Mining, Marine Energy and Submarine Cables
by
Sustainable Ocean Resource Governance offers perspectives on the legal interface between sustainable economic growth, effective marine resource management and environmental protection of the sea.
Talking Renewables
by
Renewable energy (RE) is a subject of great interest today. It is one of the two main means for implementing climate change mitigation programmes, and presently the only perceived means for replacing the declining global fossil fuel reserves. It also helps fight poverty and assists in the global quest for gender equity by taking clean energy where it is needed most for development. It is perhaps not surprising therefore that there is so much coverage of RE in both the conventional media and the internet by media and tech writers, economists and bloggers, many of who only have a partial understanding of the technology itself. The end result is mostly promotional rhetoric that says little about the true value of the technology, and leads to a confused picture for the serious individual or decision-maker who wants to know what the technology is really capable of doing. This book provides a clear and factual picture of the status of RE and its capabilities today. The need for such a book was first realized by the author when he was engaged in a renewable energy capacity-building project encompassing countries from Europe, the Caribbean, Africa, and the Pacific. The book is largely non-technical in nature; it does however contain enough mention of the science and technology to enable readers to go further with their own investigations should they wish to. The book covers all areas of renewable energy (RE), starting from biomass energy and hydropower and proceeding to wind, solar and geothermal energy before ending with an overview of ocean energy. It begins with a simple introduction to the physical principles of the RE technologies, followed by an enumeration of the requirements for their successful implementation. The last two chapters consider how the technologies are actually being implemented today and their roles in climate change mitigation and poverty alleviation.
