Applications of Machine Learning and Data Analytics Models in Maritime Transportation
by
Machine learning and data analytics can be used to inform technical, commercial and financial decisions in the maritime industry. Applications of Machine Learning and Data Analytics Models in Maritime Transportation explores the fundamental principles of analysing maritime transportation related practical problems using data-driven models, with a particular focus on machine learning and operations research models.
The Box
by
In April 1956, a refitted oil tanker carried fifty-eight shipping containers from Newark to Houston. From that modest beginning, container shipping developed into a huge industry that made the boom in global trade possible. The Box tells the dramatic story of the container's creation, the decade of struggle before it was widely adopted, and the sweeping economic consequences of the sharp fall in transportation costs that containerization brought about. Published on the fiftieth anniversary of the first container voyage, this is the first comprehensive history of the shipping container. It recounts how the drive and imagination of an iconoclastic entrepreneur, Malcom McLean, turned containerization from an impractical idea into a massive industry that slashed the cost of transporting goods around the world and made the boom in global trade possible. But the container didn't just happen. Its adoption required huge sums of money, both from private investors and from ports that aspired to be on the leading edge of a new technology. It required years of high-stakes bargaining with two of the titans of organized labor, Harry Bridges and Teddy Gleason, as well as delicate negotiations on standards that made it possible for almost any container to travel on any truck or train or ship. Ultimately, it took McLean's success in supplying U.S. forces in Vietnam to persuade the world of the container's potential. Drawing on previously neglected sources, economist Marc Levinson shows how the container transformed economic geography, devastating traditional ports such as New York and London and fueling the growth of previously obscure ones, such as Oakland. By making shipping so cheap that industry could locate factories far from its customers, the container paved the way for Asia to become the world's workshop and brought consumers a previously unimaginable variety of low-cost products from around the globe.
Containerization in Maritime Transport
by
Containerization in Maritime Transport addresses challenges to maritime transport and containerization, beginning with economic and managerial factors, through organizational, technical, operational, information and IT challenges, and ending with ecological challenges - to lessen the environmental impacts of maritime transport.
Data Analysis in the Maritime Domain
by
The book delivers a rich set of foundations, state-of-the-art knowledge, new approaches and methods for the purpose of anomalies detection, maritime traffic analysis as well as risk and reliability assessment. It addresses relevant research problems at the intersection of maritime transport in global economies, reliability and risk assessment, and information systems and data processing. The book provides a theoretical overview of available maritime data sources and approaches for maritime data analysis, as well as a set of novel tools and methods for maritime data retrieval, fusion, and analysis. The proposed methods are evaluated on real-life AIS data, covering the entire world and more than 200 thousands of vessels, illustrating how they may be used for anomaly detection and risk assessment. The primary audience of the book are researchers from the fields of computer science and maritime transport as well as logistics service providers, shipping companies and port authorities companies that need support in managing security, safety, and risk of maritime transport services in global economies by making use of large-scale data processing.
Global Blue Economy
by
A global blue economy is an economic arena that depends on the benefits and values realized from the coastal and marine environments. This book explains the "sustainable blue economy" as a marine-based economy that provides social and economic benefits for current and future generations. It restores, protects, and maintains the diversity, productivity, and resilience of marine ecosystems, and is based on clean technologies, renewable energy, and circular material flows.
Global Challenges in Maritime Security: An Introduction
by
From pirates to smugglers, migrants to hackers, from stolen fish to smuggled drugs, the sea is becoming a place of increasing importance on the global agenda as criminals use it as a theatre to conduct their crimes unfettered. This volume sets out to provide an introduction to the key issues of pertinence in Maritime Security today. It demonstrates why the sea is a space of great strategic importance, and how threats to security at sea have a real impact for people around the world. It examines an array of challenges and threats to security playing out at sea, including illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing, irregular migration, piracy, smuggling of illicit goods, and cyber security, while also looking at some of the mechanism and role-players involved in addressing these perils. Each chapter provides an overview of the issue it discusses and provides a brief case study to illustrate how this issue is playing out in real-life. This book thus allows readers an insight into this evolving multidisciplinary field of study. As such, it makes for an informative read for academics and practitioners alike, as well as policymakers and students, offering a well-rounded introduction of the main issues in current Maritime Security.
Human-Centered Autonomous Shipping
by
Tracing the development of autonomous and automated shipping from a hype of unmanned ships to a more realistic growth of automation to augment humans in maritime operations, this book shows why human factors and human-centred design are essential to the endeavour. Themes addressed in the book include technology and cyber security, regulation and classification, and competence and skills. It combines commentary and insight from experts across the industry as well as academia and describes a roller coaster ride from conceptual idea via a period of hype where technologists and engineers enthusiastically advocated a rapid development as many others in the maritime industry felt compelled, but struggled, to follow and finally to a more measured view as cumulative experience started to show the limitations, risks, and the lack of a generic business case. This book is intended for anyone working in, researching in, or simply interested in, shipping and the maritime domain and the evolution of autonomous shipping. The target audience includes regulators, educators, researchers, engineers and manufacturers. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
Maritime Transportation
by
The environmental and human costs of marine accidents are high, and risks are considerable. At the same time, expectations from society to the safety of maritime transportation, like most other activities, increases continuously. To meet these expectations, systematic methods for understanding and managing the risks in a cost-efficient manner are needed. This book provides readers with an understanding of how to approach this problem. Firmly set within the context of the maritime industry, systematic methods for safety management and risk assessment are described. The legal framework and the risk picture within the maritime industry provide necessary context. Safety management is a continuous and wide-ranging process, with a set of methods and tools to support the process. The book provides guidance on how to approach safety management, with many examples from the maritime industry to illustrate practical use. This extensively revised new edition addresses the needs of students and professionals working in shipping management, ship design and naval architecture, and transport management, as well as safety management, insurance, and accident investigation.
Principles of Global Supply Chain Management
by
Many of the textbooks available for undergraduate and sub-degree students beginning to learn the concepts and practice of global supply chains are either too technical or too theoretical in nature. To fill this gap, 'Managing Global Supply Chains' includes chapters that cover traditional and contemporary topics (reverse logistics, logistics associations, logistics education, sustainability in supply chain management, operations in global supply chains and financial management). Globalization, advanced technology, organizational consolidation, the empowered consumer and government policy have contributed to the timeliness of the book. The key topics of each chapter demonstrate a variety of fundamental issues in the supply chain industry: What are supply chain markets? What is the supply chain cost structure? What are supply chain strategies? How do supply chain firms design and implement strategies? What are the key roles of logistics service providers, logistics education operators and logistics associations? How should supply chain operations be managed? How is a sustainable and innovative supply chain structure created? Comparative practical case studies from Asia, North America and Latin America lend weight to the chapters.
Regulation and Finance in the Port Industry: Lessons from Worldwide Experiences
by
This book addresses the latest organizational, regulatory, and governance issues of main port systems, linking them to the financial aspects that are currently in use regarding investments in the port industry. A general review of port management and operations is complimented by analysis of country specific systems and a look at how ports could develop in the future. This book aims to examine how different port organizational and regulatory contexts affect port investment practices and related financial tools. The book is of use to researchers and practitioners interested in maritime economics and transportation studies. Claudio Ferrari is Full Professor of Applied Economics at the University of Genoa, Italy, and member of the scientific board of the Italian Centre of Excellence for Integrated Logistics. He is the Director of the Ph.D. program in Marine Science and Technologies. Hercules Haralambides is Professor of Maritime Economics and Logistics, having taught at 9 universities (and in 7 different countries), most prominent of which being Sorbonne University, Erasmus University Rotterdam, and National University of Singapore. Currently he is also Distinguished Chair Professor at Dalian Maritime University (China) and Adjunct Professor at Texas A&M University (USA). Sergio Prete is Professor of Port Management at the University of Bari "Aldo Moro", Italy. From 2011 to 2015 he was appointed President of the Port Authority of Taranto. In 2012, he was nominated Member of the "Expert Committee" of the Shanghai International Shipping Institute - the research institute from Shanghai which supports the Chinese Government and private/public Chinese maritime operators in the transport and logistics sector - with whom he cooperated in the research field. Alessio Tei is currently working at the Department of Economics of the University of Genoa as Associate Professor in Applied Economics. Previously, Alessio has worked at Newcastle University as Lecturer in Maritime Economics and he has cooperated as adjunct professor with several other institutions, among which University of Eastern Piedmont and the Naval Academy of Leghorn. During his career, Alessio was a visiting researcher at the Department of Transport and Regional Economics of University of Antwerp.
Smart Ports and Robotic Systems: Navigating the Waves of Techno-Regulation and Governance
by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of smart ports and remote technologies in the maritime industry. It demonstrates how modern advances in artificial intelligence and robotics have transformed the shipping industry, and assesses the impact of this technology from a law and governance standpoint. The book covers a range of topics including port autonomous operations systems, cybersecurity, big data analytics, digitalization and blockchain to throw light on the opportunities and benefits of these new technologies in improving security and safety. It also considers the challenges and threats of their application. It concludes by examining the trajectory of national and international regulatory developments. The book will appeal to scholars and students of maritime technology, law and governance, as well as practitioners and policymakers. Chapters 8, 19 and 20 are available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com. Tafsir Matin Johansson is Assistant Professor at the World Maritime University- Sasakawa Global Ocean Institute, Sweden. Dimitrios Dalaklis is Professor of Safety and Security at the World Maritime University, Sweden. Jonatan Echebarria Fernández is Honorary Lecturer at The City Law School, City, University of London, UK. Aspasia Pastra is Post-Doctoral Fellow at the World Maritime University- Sasakawa Global Ocean Institute, Sweden. Mitchell Lennan is Lecturer in Environmental Law at the University of Aberdeen, UK.
Sustainability in the Maritime Domain : Towards Ocean Governance and Beyond
by
This volume explores options for a sustainable maritime domain, including maritime transportation, such as, Maritime Spatial Planning (MSP), maritime education and training, maritime traffic and advisory systems, maritime security. Other activities in the maritime domain covered in the book include small-scale fisheries and sustainable fisheries, and greening the blue economy. The book aims to provide the building blocks needed for a framework for good ocean governance; a framework that will serve through the next decade and, and hopefully, well beyond the 2030 milepost of the UN Agenda for Sustainable Development. In short, this book brings together the problems of the current world and sustainable solutions that are in the development process and will eventually materialize in the not so distant future. Additionally, the book presents a trans-disciplinary analysis of integral sustainable maritime transportation solutions and crucial issues relevant to good ocean governance that have recently been discussed at different national, regional and international fora, highlighting ongoing work to develop and support governance systems that facilitate industry requirements, and meet the needs of coastal states and indigenous peoples, of researchers, of spatial planners, and of other sectors dependent on the oceans. The book will be of interest to researchers across many disciplines, especially those that are engaged in cross-sectoral research and developments in the maritime transport sector and across the wider maritime domain. To this end, the book covers areas including natural and social sciences, geographical studies, spatial planning, maritime security and gender studies, as they relate to transport and the wider maritime sector. In addition, the book explores frameworks for sustainable ocean governance being developed under the UN's Agenda for Sustainable Development to 2030. It will also look beyond the 2030 milepost under that Agenda, and will be of use to national and international policymakers and practitioners, government actors at the EU and other regional and national levels and to researchers of ocean governance, sustainability and management, and maritime transport.
Sustainable Shipping: A Cross-Disciplinary View
by
International shipping is currently at a crossroads. The decision of the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in April 2018 to adopt an Initial Strategy so as to achieve by 2050 a reduction of at least 50% in maritime greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions vis-à-vis 2008 levels epitomizes the last among a series of recent developments as regards sustainable shipping. It also sets the scene on what may happen in the future. Even though many experts and industry circles believe that the IMO decision is in line with the COP21 climate change agreement in Paris in 2015, others disagree, either on the ground that the target is not ambitious enough, or on the ground that no clear pathway to reach the target is currently visible. This book takes a cross-disciplinary view of the various dimensions of the maritime transportation sustainability problem. "Cross-disciplinary" means that a variety of angles are used to examine the book topics, and these mainly include the technological angle, the economics angle, the logistics angle, and the environmental angle. The book reviews models that can be used to evaluate decisions, policy alternatives and tradeoffs. For sustainable shipping, a spectrum of technical, logistics-based and market based measures are being contemplated. All may have important side-effects as regards the economics and logistics of the maritime supply chain, including ports and hinterland connections. The objective to attain an acceptable environmental performance, while at the same time respecting traditional economic performance criteria so that shipping remains viable, is and is likely to be a central goal for both industry and policy-makers in the years ahead. At the same time, policy fragmentation is likely to create distortions of competition and sub-optimal solutions. This book attempts to address these issues and identify better solutions. Sustainable Shipping: A Cross-Disciplinary View includes chapters that cover many relevant topics. These include a general view of maritime transport sustainability, green ship technologies, information and communication technologies (ICTs) for sustainable shipping, green tramp ship routing and scheduling, green liner network design and speed optimization. Market based measures, oil pollution, ship recycling, sulphur emissions, ballast water management, alternative fuels and green ports are also covered. The book concludes by discussing prospects for the future, with a focus on the IMO Initial Strategy.
