Skip to main content

Research Guides

Veterinary Medicine

Using Off-Campus Access for Electronic Books, Articles, Journals, and Databases

Start at the Medical Sciences Library website as you would while on campus. Either search the MSL Catalog for the journal or book you need; or click the database you want to use. When you access the TAMU subscription, a prompt for your NetID and password appears.

Resources you can access off campus:

  • Electronic databases
  • Electronic articles
  • Electronic journals (ejournals)
  • Electronic books (ebooks)

Note:

  • Some electronic resources don't require off campus logins.
  • You do not need to log in to the proxy server before you look for your resource.

If you have trouble accessing an electronic resource, please contact AskMSL@library.tamu.edu or 979-845-7428.

The Medical Sciences Library is always open virtually 24/7/365. You may use this guide to help you access electronic databases, journals, or books. You may contact us anytime at AskMSL@library.tamu.edu for help or to arrange a research consultation.

Slack Us

Do you use TAMU Slack? The Medical Sciences Library (MSL) does, too.

 For live assistance with remote access issues, finding journal articles, scheduling consultations or instruction, visit our Slack channel, #medical-sciences-library. We're here M-Th 7a-10p, F 7a-5p, and weekends 1-5p. If you have a channel, feel free to invite us!

Article, Book Chapter, and Book Delivery Service -- Get It For Me -- Instructions

Get It For Me is the free Medical Sciences Library article and book chapter delivery service. If you need an article and its not available electronically, you can request it through Get It For Me and we will scan from our physical collection or send requests to partner libraries who will then fill it.

You may also request books, theses and dissertations, patents, and other resources through the system that you would receive an email about and pick up from the Medical Sciences Library.

1.  Go to

2.  Click the NetID Username Login link.

Med Sci Lib Get It For Me welcome page

3.  There may be a terms and conditions page. When you click through this page you agree to the terms and conditions listed.

4.  Fill in the Personal Information. All fields denoted with * are required. Click Submit Information.

Image of MSL Get It For Me personal information form page.

When using databases or online journals, where the full-text of an article is not available, you may request articles through Get It For Me directly from the resource.

To use this feature, you must have accessed the database or online journal through the Medical Sciences Library, available:

For this example, we'll go through the catalog; the process will be similar for each of the methods above.

1. In the catalog record on the rightside of the screen is a maroon button Full Text @ TAMU; click it.

MSL catalog screen shot showing article linker

Or from a database, for example Legacy (old) PubMed, it's the yellow and maroon Find Text @ TAMU button on the left side of the screen under Full text links.

2. This will take you to another record where you may access the article you're interested in if it's within the specified date range (located under the title link) that the Medical Sciences Library owns. If what you're looking for is outside that date range, under the header below the date range click Get It For Me.

3. You will be take to a page where you will select your location and log into get it for me.

4. Once logged in, if this is not your first time logging into Get It For Me, it should automatically populate information about the article into the request form.

5. Check this information for accuracy.

6. Submit your request.

For this example, we're demonstrating how to request an article; but requesting book chapters, books, theses and dissertations, or another format, is a similar process, you would make the appropriate selection under the New Request heading, see step 3.

1.  Go to

2.  Click NetID Username Login. Logon.

Med Sci Lib Get It For Me welcome page

3.  In the menu on the left, under the New Request heading, click the type of item you are requesting, e.g., article or book chapter.

Image of MSL Get It For Me logged in main page.
4. Complete the request form with as much information as you have. Click Submit Request.

Image of MSL Get It For Me article request form.

You will receive email notification when each request is available, generally within 24 to 48 hours.

1.  Go to

Click the NetID Username Login link and logon.

Med Sci Lib Get It For Me welcome page
2.  In the menu on the left, under the View heading, click Electronically Received Articles. Each request is listed with a link to a .pdf file. You may view, download, and/or print each file for 30 days from the day it is posted.

Exceptions will be with requested books: you will receive an email when it's available and will need to pick up from the Medical Sciences Library.

Medical Sciences Library

Start at the Medical Sciences Library website as you would while on campus. Either search the MSL Catalog for the journal or book you need; or click the database you want to use. When you access the TAMU subscription, a prompt for your NetID and password appears.

Resources you can access off campus:

  • Electronic databases
  • Electronic articles
  • Electronic journals (ejournals)
  • Electronic books (ebooks)

Note:

  • Some electronic resources don't require off campus logins.
  • You do not need to log in to the proxy server before you look for your resource.

If you have trouble accessing an electronic resource, please contact AskMSL@library.tamu.edu or 979-845-7428.