Research Guides: Public Service & Administration: Policy Data Sources

Search major data repositories

This search box will search the major open access data repositories for datasets with specific search terms:

Google has also launched an engine that will search for datasets by keyword.

The US Census is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. They collect data through the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, Census of Governments, American Community Survey and other programs.

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
American FactFinder is the primary tool to access data published by the Census Bureau. AFF allows you to access data from many Census Bureau sources: 2000 and 1990 Decennial Censuses, the Economic Censuses and the American Community Survey.

Census Quick Facts
quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey. Detailed demographic and economic statistics are available every year for the nation's communities and their people.
Current Population Survey
The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative, comprehensive and current summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
TAMU Only Access Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll data to compare residents' responses region by region and nation by nation to questions on topics such as economic conditions, government and business, health and wellbeing, infrastructure, and education.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
the world's largest archive of survey data, and through its programs of publication, presentation and advanced research, the Roper Center provides access to cross-national data on public opinion and the problems faced by Americans and citizens of other nations.

Pew Research Center on US Politics and Policy
public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research from a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
provides public opinion data on many topics across many geographies, searchable by topic, country and polling agencies.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
full-text of more than 211 years worth of detailed information about Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
CQ Congress Collection This link opens in a new window
includes public policy legislation and analysis, biographical data on members of Congress since 1945, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. Includes statistical data of the legislative branch.

Congressional Bills Project
provides information about more than 400,000 bills introduced in the U.S. Congress, currently 1947-2008, along with extensive information about each bill's progress and sponsor.
Congressional Apportionment Data (Census)
The Constitutional basis for conducting the decennial census is to reapportion the U.S. House of Representatives. Apportionment is the process of dividing the 435 memberships, or seats, in the U.S. House of Representatives among the 50 states.

Congressional Record This link opens in a new window
Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress. Here you can find roll call votes and more.