Research Guides: Public Service & Administration: Environmental policy

Data & Statistics

The following lists just a few electronic providers of water-related sciences data and statistics. Additional data can be found through the U.S. Government's data.gov portal, which provides a searchable list of government data sets (including those of interest to water and hydrological sciences) and the Data Citation Index, which provides access to data studies and data sets in the world's leading data repositories of interest to the scientific community. Contact an agriculture and life sciences librarian if you need assistance locating water-related data or statistics.

Ag Data Commons
The data repository of the National Agricultural Library, Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research.
Bureau of Reclamation
Provides water resource publications, standards, reports, and more.
Economic Research Service (ERS)
Provides data and publications related to U.S. food and agricultural production and trade.
Long-Term Agroecosystem Research Data
The National Agricultural Library's source for agroecosystem research data collected at agricultural research sites around the U.S.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Provides price and production data from the U.S. Census of Agriculture and annual U.S. producer surveys through their Quick Stats portal. Publishes a variety of reports related to U.S. agriculture. The Texas Agricultural Statistics Service office provides price and production data, as well as associated reports, specifically for Texas agriculture.
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Provides access to current and historical climate and weather data and information via the National Climatic Data Center.
National Park Service (NPS)
Includes information on climate change, environmental quality, and air. biological, geologic, and water resources, as well as photos and multimedia.
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Provides information, tools, and resources related to conservation of land and resources.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Hosts a Conservation Library that includes curriculum-related materials, conservation texts, and electronic resources.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Provides maps, aerial photographs and satellite imagery, and publications.

Environmental Data

Environmental Performance Measurement Project
"Data on environmental sustainability and performance. The project produces two composite indices: the Environmental Sustainability Index (ESI) and the Environmental Performance Index (EPI)."
Trends: A Compendium of Data on Global Change
Provides synopses of frequently used time series of global-change data: concentrations of carbon dioxide, methane, emissions, carbon flux, long-term temperature records, etc.
Environmental Dataset Gateway
EPA maintained repository that facilitates discovery of geospatial and non-geospatial data resources made available by EPA's Program Offices, Regions, and Laboratories.

Environmental Policy Think Tanks

This search box will search the top 10 Environmental Policy Web Sites as identified by the 2014 Global Go To Think Tank Report (from Penn).

World Resources Institute
Stockholm Environment Institute
Worldwatch Institute
Brookings Institution
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
Chatham House
Ecologic Institute
Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
International Institute for Sustainable Development
Center for Environmental Research