Malign Foreign Influence
Looking at the Foreign Influence Taxonomy - 2018 (DHS) as a starting point to define this term, the scope is fairly broad:
- New (social) media abuse (may include cyber activities)
- Traditional media abuse
- Trade/ strategic investment
- Coercion/corruption
- Migration exploitation
- International organization manipulation
This document also addresses "misinformation", "disinformation" and "malinformation".
Here are a few recent documents and webinars to provide some context around malign foreign influence:
- Combatting Malign Influence in 2020 (CSIS)
- Challenges of Countering Influence Operations (Carnegie)
- Combatting Foreign Influence (FBI)
- Interim Report of the Countering Foreign Influence Subcommittee (DHS)
And some reports and speeches on specific cases:
US efforts to counter Russian disinformation and malign influence
Political influence operations : how foreign actors seek to shape U.S. policy makingPublication Date: 2018
Routledge Handbook of Character Assassination and Reputation ManagementPublication Date: 2019
Activating China : local actors, foreign influence, and state responsePublication Date: 2019
Computing and Cyber Research Databases
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowCompendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
- Inspec This link opens in a new windowIndexing of the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering with more than 8 million records from 1896 to the present.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull text access to journals, proceedings, and ebooks published by Association for Computing Machinery.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowDigital library providing full text access to the world's literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, it contains full text documents from IEEE and IET publications.
Trade & Marketing Information on Cyber
- IDC This link opens in a new windowProvides market intelligence and reports for the information technology, telecommunications and consumer technology markets.
- FACCTS (Faulkner's Advisory on Computer & Communications Technologies) This link opens in a new windowContains reports, vendor profiles, and product solutions on computer systems, software, networking, and telecom technologies.
Cyber Security Trends and Initiatives
- NIST Cyber risk scoringFrom the Center for Risk and Security, a framework to identify resources and potential threats.
- IEEE Cyber Security InitiativeIncludes readings and interviews; Try-Cybsi which allows students and practitioners the ability to try out attacks, tools, and exercises key to understanding computer security; and the Center for Secure Design, which helps identify common design flaws.
Cyber & Computer Resources
- IDC This link opens in a new windowProvides market intelligence and reports for the information technology, telecommunications and consumer technology markets.
Published by: International Data Corporation - FACCTS (Faulkner's Advisory on Computer & Communications Technologies) This link opens in a new windowContains reports, vendor profiles, and product solutions on computer systems, software, networking, and telecom technologies.
Published by: Faulkner Information Services - BCC Research This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports that includes major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations.
Published by: BCC Research LLC
Business Discipline-Focused Resources
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowDatabase includes articles from business periodicals, news sources, and scholarly research, covering a wide-range of business topics.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowFull text articles and abstracts from peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, conference proceedings, and news organizations on a wide-range of business topics. Includes articles from the Harvard Business Review and MIT's Sloan Management Review. Also contains company profiles, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, Datamonitor reports, and country reports.
IT/Computer Science Discipline-Focused Resources
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowIEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology, formerly IEE) publications.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull text of every article ever published by ACM.
- Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProviding content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges & research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
- Computer Source This link opens in a new windowComputer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
- CiteSeerXCiteSeerX is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerX aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
- TechRepublicTechRepublic's Resource Library is the web's largest directory of free vendor-supplied technical content.
- BitpipeBitpipe.com is the enterprise IT professional's guide to information technology resources including white papers, webcasts and product information. Free access to resources, but users may need to submit contact information before accessing.
- GlobalComms Database (TeleGeography) This link opens in a new windowGlobalComms is TeleGeography's regularly updated online encyclopedia of wireline and wireless telecommunications competition. No other telecom market research tool rivals its geographic scope and depth of coverage.
- Encyclopedia of Information Systems byCall Number: T58.5 .E535 2003Publication Date: 2002-07-29Available online and in Business Library and Collaboration Commons and Evans or Annex, The Encyclopedia of Information Systems provides information on computers and information systems, including articles, figures, and tables.
- Encyclopedia of software engineeringPublication Date: 2002Available online, this work explores the issues and principles of software engineering, including related areas.
- Wiley encyclopedia of telecommunicationsPublication Date: 2003Online encyclopedia dedicated to telecommunications for electrical engineers. Topics Include: Optical communications, modulation and demodulation, coding and decoding, communication networks, and antennas.
- Telecommunications and Data Communications Handbook byPublication Date: 2007-08-31Available online, this handbook includes information on origins, evolution and meaningful contemporary applications.