Research Guides: MKTG 321 Principles of Marketing (Summer 2025): Media Planning

Direct & Digital Marketing

Direct Marketing

Example from SRDS. The Direct Marketing section gives you information on both b2b and b2c email lists and insert programs.

Educhannel College Graduates and Students
SRDS Updated/Confirmed: Jul 09, 2020
Summary Description
Reach over 22 million college graduates college students and high school graduates pursuing further studies and career interests. Each has specified a particular educational interest whether it be obtaining a degree or changing careers.
51% male, 49% female.

Digital Marketing

Example from eMarketer. There are many reports, statistics, interviews, and examples of digital marketing.
Out-of-Home Ad Spending Outlook
We updated our OOH ad spending figures in June. In 2020, US total OOH ad spending will decline 4.6% to $8.25 billion. Previously, we forecast that US OOH ad spending would increase 3.3%. The decline in OOH ad spending is being driven by brands reducing their media budgets as they grapple with economic difficulty, as well as outdoor advertising’s demand being affected by quarantines and social distancing guidelines.

Advertising Creative & Costs

Creative

Redbooks, also known as Winmo, has over 200,000 ads and case studies from around the world.
You can search by companies, brands, or agencies. Brand reports give you Media Spend, Agency Relationships, and a Social Audience report. Below are examples from the Creative Library and a Brand report.

Ad Example and Report

Brand Report

Ad Costs

Information on advertising costs is also available through SRDS.
Categories include Direct Marketing, Magazines, Out of Home, Broadcast, and more.

Example from Ad$pender.
This database gives ad spend per company for different products and in different markets.

Sales Promotions

Example from Statista. 'Coupon redemption' keyword search will get you statistics and graphs.

Media Planning Resources

EMARKETER
Provides statistics and reports related to digital marketing, media and e-commerce from countries in North America, Latin America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East, and Africa.
Access to this database is provided, in part, through the generosity of the R. C. Barclay Endowment of the Center for Retailing Studies at Texas A&M University.
Published by: eMarketer Inc.
Redbooks
Contains information on advertising agencies and advertisers. For some companies, there are images of advertisements and advertising expenditures. Also provides access to their job board.
Note: This resource is limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Alternate titles: Advertisers and agencies online; Advertising red books
Published by: Red Books LLC
SRDS Databases
Contains information and advertising rates on various media properties, including consumer and trade magazines, newspaper, out-of-home, and more. Also includes information on DMAs (Designated Market Areas).
Alternate titles: Standard Rate & Data Service ;
Published by: Standard Rate & Data Service
Statista
Statista is a database that contains international statistics, facts, and market data taken from free and proprietary sources.
Published by: Statista Inc.
Warc
An online service offering advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands.
Published by: Warc Ltd.

Public Relations Journal
Free, open access online, and peer-reviewed scholarly journal.