Research Guides: Economics: Health Economics

Medical Debt in the US

Public Health databases - from M. Foster

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and life sciences literature.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
medical and health related textbooks
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Open access, peer-reviewed biomedical research.
Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR).
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmacological literature.
GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Literature covering tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Human health and disease literature.
Immunology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Studies relating to all aspects of immune systems in man and animals.
JoVE: Immunology and Infection This link opens in a new window
Global health literature focusing on biological response and efficacy of therapeutic agents used to treat disease.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and life sciences literature.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmacological literature.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene.
Petroleum Abstracts TULSA® Database This link opens in a new window
International literature on petroleum exploration, development, transportation, and production, as well as related topics that concern environmental, safety, and health issues.
Environment Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Literature covering the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies, and some coverage of energy-related issues.
Water Research Foundation This link opens in a new window
Industry insights and practical solutions to the most complex challenges facing the water community today and into the future.
Ergonomics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Mainstream ergonomics literature, and related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of community health services and interventions, planning, centers, and workers.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmacological literature.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews and meta-analysis of findings in the medical literature to supporting evidence-based practice in health care.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Community health literature from 1994-present.
Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) This link opens in a new window
Data archives on variety of topics including health, aging, children, and more.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychology and the behavioral sciences literature, including over 200 neuroscience titles.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of government policy and future objectives pertaining to the health care system.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
More than 420 publications covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict.
CQ Public Affairs Collection This link opens in a new window
Reporting on 22 key public affairs subject headings like Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
A collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
GPO This link opens in a new window
United States federal government publications from 1976 to the present. Topics covered include agriculture, medicine, and public health.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes healthcare administration.

Health Services Research PubMed Queries
A search interface to find PubMed citations relating to health care quality or to health care costs, e.g.: Appropriateness; Process assessment; Outcomes assessment; Costs; Economics; Qualitative research; and Quality improvement.
Electronic Health Record Search in PubMed
Use this query to retrieve citations to journal literature on electronic health records (EHRs).

Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from business periodicals, news sources, and scholarly research, covering a wide-range of business topics.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provide historical information and current trends in business covering accounting, finance, banking, marketing, management and much more. In addition, the database includes case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
The NBER is a nonprofit economic research organization, concentrating on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. It includes research papers and often, accompanying datasets.
Alternate titles: National Bureau of Economic Research working paper series
Published by: National Bureau of Economic Research

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to approximately 8,500 high impact research journals.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Journal package of more than 1,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1,000 journals, major reference works, online books, Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and databases.

Public Health data - from M. Foster

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)
Health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Chronic Disease and Health Promotion Data & Indicators (CDC)
Access a wide range of chronic disease data, risk factor indicators and policy measures.
Epidemiologic Data (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism)
Provides links to statistical summaries of data collected or compiled by NIAAA on alcohol consumption, alcohol-related mortality and morbidity, and other alcohol-related problems and consequences.
Health, United States, 2015 (CDC | NCHS)
Annual report on trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance, and more.
HealthData.gov
Includes clinical care provider quality information, nationwide health service provider directories, databases of the latest medical and scientific knowledge, consumer product data, community health performance information, government spending data and much more.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly (CDC)
Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community.
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS provides a number of resources for quick access to statistics on important public health topics.

Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data This link opens in a new window
GHO is the World Health Organization’s main health statistics repository. It contains an extensive list of health indicators, multi-dimensional query functionality, and a world map gallery displaying important health themes.

Healthy People 2020
HP 2020 includes statistics, interventions, federal goals on many health issues

Demography is the statistical study of human populations especially with reference to size and density, distribution, and vital statistics [births, deaths, marriages, health, and disease] (Merriam-Webster, 2016).

U.S. Census Quick Facts
Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
National Vital Statistics System
The Nation's official vital statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics.
National Vital Statistics Report
Monthly and cumulative data on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces, and infant deaths for States and the United States are presented with brief analyses of the vital statistics.
Student Demographics (U.S. Department of Education)
Provides a variety of student demographic data.
United Nations Demographic & Social Statistics
International statistics on population size and structure, fertility, mortality and migration, family formation, housing, violence against women, health and disability, social security and welfare, income and poverty, and public order and safety.

A disease registry is a tool for tracking the clinical care and outcomes of a defined patient population. Most disease registries are used to support care management for groups of patients with one or more chronic diseases, such as diabetes, coronary artery disease, or asthma (AHRQ, 2016).

NIH List of Registries
Provides information about registry efforts at the national level.
Texas Cancer Registry
The Texas Cancer Registry (TCR) is a statewide population-based registry that serves as the foundation for measuring the Texas cancer burden, comprehensive cancer control efforts, health disparities, progress in prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and survivorship, as well as supports a wide variety of cancer-related research.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Provides health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.

Data Sources from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Provides a range of data resources in the form of online, searchable databases. Data are provided on topics such as the use of health care, the costs of care, trends in hospital care, health insurance coverage, out-of-pocket spending, and patient satisfaction.
Health Resources & Services Administration Data Warehouse
The HRSA Data Warehouse (HDW) serves as the enterprise repository for HRSA’s data and makes that data available to the public. The data warehouse integrates this data with external sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau, enabling users to gather relevant and meaningful information about health care programs and the populations they serve. The HDW is used by HRSA, grantees, care providers, the public, and other audiences interested in HRSA’s public health services and information.
National Core Indicators
National Core Indicators (NCI)™ is a voluntary effort by public developmental disabilities agencies to measure and track their own performance.
Health and Medical Care Archive (University of Michigan | Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)
The data collections in HMCA include surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization (AHRQ)
Provides hospital care data, including information on in-patient stays, ambulatory surgery and services visits, and emergency department encounters.
Medical Expenditures Panel Survey (AHRQ)
Data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending. Annual surveys of individuals and families, as well as their health care providers, provide data on health status, the use of medical services, charges, insurance coverage, and satisfaction with care.
State Health Access Data Assistance Center (University of Minnesota | Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)
Provides health insurance coverage, access, and cost estimates from federal population surveys. You can create maps, bar charts, trends, and tables. It's a great way to explore coverage, access to care, and access to and cost of employer-sponsored insurance within states by characteristics (i.e. age, race/ethnicity, and education level). You can also compare across states and look at trends over time.

American Hospital Association Data
AHA Data represents information that is directly provided by more than 6,000 hospitals and 400 health care systems. Our data warehouse covers an array of data points, including demographics, operations, service line, staffing, c-suite information, expenses, physician organization structures, beds, utilization and more. Historical data sets are available for many of these tools.
Hospital Compare Datasets (Medicare.gov)
These data allow you to compare the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals across the country.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care (Hospital Data)
Hospital-specific data from the Dartmouth Atlas project reflect the treatment of Medicare patients with serious chronic illnesses who were in their last two years of life. The data are not restricted to services delivered in acute care hospitals; they include care delivered in outpatient facilities, skilled nursing and long-term care hospitals, and services delivered by home health agencies and hospice.

WISQARS
CDC’s WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources.
Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program provides annual information on the rate and number of work-related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics.
OSHA Data & Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor)
Provides inspection, chemical exposure, establishment specific injury and illness, severe injury, and manufacturing data.