Research Guides: Economics: International trade &amp; FDI

International Trade Data

International Trade Statistics
From the World Trade Organization, it provides access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF)
Includes total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group level: the most recent six quarters and the latest year for 169 countries; and last ten quarters and five years for the world and area tables.
UN International Trade Data (UNCTAD)
Trade data by partner, product or service as well as trade trends and indicators, back to 1995.
FAOStat Trade Data
Provides country level trade data, aggregated and product-level, for agriculture, crops and livestock from 1960s to present.
UN Comtrade Database
Provides annual and monthly data by reporter, commodity or partner back to the 1960s.

USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities. It uses the Harmonized System (HS) or the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes.

Foreign Direct Investment Data Sources

What is Foreign Direct Investment (FDI)...

Foreign direct investment (FDI) refers to the inflows of capital from an enterprise in one country to another and is a measure of foreign ownership of assets, involving establishing operations or acquiring tangible assets, including stakes in other businesses.. Generally, the data is measured in terms of inflows-outflows to result in a net FDI inflow.

FDI may take different forms:

Mergers & Acquisitions
Greenfield

More detail from the Financial Times at http://lexicon.ft.com/Term?term=foreign-direct-investment

fDi Markets This link opens in a new window
Most up-to-date, detailed information with real-time monitoring of foreign direct investment projects including capital investment and tools to track and profile companies investing overseas.

Instructions for getting started with FDiMarkets

Foreign Direct Investment data is generally provided as country inflows or outflows and by industry:

IMF Coordinated Direct Investment Survey
Includes inward and outward direct investment by country or region back to 2009. Includes bilateral (country-to-country) data.
OECD FDI
Has country inflows or outflows, aggregate and by industry. It also has bilateral data.
UNCTAD Foreign Direct Investment Data
Inflows and outflows data from 1980 to present year.
World Bank FDI
Includes net data by country back to 2005 as well as inflows and outflows.
Foreign Direct Investment Confidence Index
Examines the overarching trends in FDI. Top 25 ranking looks at how political and economic changes will affect FDI inflows.
US Foreign Direct Investment (inflows and outflows)
From the BEA, based on filing information, it includes US Investment Abroad and Foreign Direst Investment in the US.

Research Guides

Research Guides

Economics

International Trade Data

Foreign Direct Investment Data Sources

What is Foreign Direct Investment (FDI)...

Reports on Regions and Industries